Skip to Main Content

Julia A. Cowart

Julia A. Cowart

My Guides

Furman University Alma Mater and School Songs Collection

Wood Furman Papers, 1792-1839

"A Sermon Preached in Charleston at the Ordination of Nicholas Bedgegood and Samuel Stillman on Feb. 26, 1759” by Francis Pelot

"John Lake, Canton, China: A Biography," by Carrie Bostick Lake and Hortense Woodson, unpublished manuscript, 1986

"The Reign of Man", by T.P. Crawford, unpublished manuscript, 1900

“Scion of the Flat Woods, Poor Lands: Courageous People" by James McDowell Richardson, unpublished manuscript

“The Mountain: Clan Goldsmith Reunion, celebrating the 60th wedding anniversary of Thomas and Helen Goldsmith,” unpublished manuscript

Adventure in faith: The first 300 years of First Baptist Church, Charleston, S.C.: partial corrected typescript, 1980

Allen P. Crawford Collection on Mark Twain, 1874, 1895-2006 inclusive; bulk 1943-1945

Allen P. Crawford Papers, 1965-1997

American Association of University Women (AAUW) Records, Greenville Branch

American Association of University Women (AAUW) Records, South Carolina Division

American Civil War Archival Resources

American Festival of Microtonal Music Records

American Newspaper Collection, Headlines and Front Pages, 1860-2010 inclusive

Andrew Balent Music Collection, 1968-2023

Andrew J.S. Thomas Papers, 1875-1879, 1889 and undated

Andrew P. Montague Diary, January 3 - April 5, 1899

Andrew Philip Montague, President 1897-1902

Basil Manly Family Papers, 1817-1977; bulk 1837-1886

Beginner Bible Story Series Collection, 1940-1943, 1946

Belton O. Mauldin Family Correspondence, 1856-1902

Bennette Eugene Geer '96, (1933-1938)

Bennie (Ward) Sinclair Papers, 1945-1969

Bennie Lee Sinclair Papers, 1921-2007

Billy Graham Southern Piedmont Crusade Procedure Book, 1966

Botsford Family Papers, 1769-1869

Business Ledgers: Gower, Mills & Co. and Mills & McBrayer, 1872-1879

C.B. Martin Papers, 1896-1958

Ceille Baird Welch Papers, 2000-2010

Charles A. Batson Papers, 1936-2009

Charles E. Daniel Family and White Oaks Collection, 1917-1987

Charles H. Judson (Acting President 1902-1903)

Charles H. Townes Collection, 1934-1969

Charles H. Townes Papers, 1931-2013; bulk 1991-2011

Charles M. & Frances G. Furman Civil War Correspondence, 1861-1865

Charles Manly, (President 1881-1897)

Charlie Spivak Band Orchestrations, 1940-1962

Charlie Spivak Papers, 1913-1982

Claire Bateman Papers, 1977-2018

Col. James Carroll Kemp, Sr. WWII Command Maps and Photographs, 1944-1945

Coleman Family Papers 1899-1912

Collection of materials from the Pelham Mills office, 1927-1946

Collection of Rev. Richard Fuller Letters, 1832-1867

Collection of Robert N. Daniel materials, 1936, 1938

Collection on John T. Anderson, M.D., circa 1900s – 2012

Collection on Leland L. Bolding, Six Mile Academy and Six Mile High School, 1912-1984

Collection on Mary C. Judson, ca. 1913-1986

Collection on the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, 1858-1987 inclusive

Courtship Letters of Mary A. Roe and Luther P. Hawkins, 1873-1875

Daniel Townsend Smith Papers 1861-1929

David Emory Shi, President 1994-2010

David M. Ramsay Papers, 1887-1950

Diploma and Certificate collection, 1830 -

Dr. G.W. Gardner Papers, 1870-1905

Dr. J. F. Plainfield Papers, 1912-1975; bulk 1959-1971

Dr. John L. Plyler Presidential Papers, 1927-1964

Dr. Samuel J. Gardner Papers, circa 1920s-1950s

Ed Madden Papers, 1989-2021

Edmund Botsford Correspondence, 1785-1819

Edwin McNeill Poteat (President 1903-1918)

Eleanor B. Hunter Collection of J. Lyles Alley, 1975-1990

Elizabeth Davis, President 2014 -

Emrys Foundation Records, 1983-2020

Ernest E. Harrill Collection, 1954-2012; bulk 1970-1971

Eugene Platt Papers, 2015-2023

Eugenia Helen Ligon Papers, undated

Exhibitions and Events

Frederick L. Jones Papers (unprocessed)

Frederick M. Hawkins Correspondence, 1833-1837, 1842

Furman and Butt Family Papers, 1827-1840

Furman Family Collection, 1782-1960; bulk 1820-1896

Furman History and Traditions

Furmaniana Reference Files

Gallivan Construction Company Records, 1926-1943

Genealogical Information on families connected with Fairforest Baptist Church, Union County, SC

Genealogical Resources

George and Elaine Howard Collection of Charlie Spivak Memorabilia, 1967-1974

George C. Young Collection of German War Photographs and Realia, circa 1933-1945

Gilbert Allen Papers, 1983-2024

Gordon Williams Blackwell (President 1965-1976)

Grand Opera House Programs (Greenville, S.C.), 1901-1907

Greenville Homemakers Club Scrapbooks, 1950-1968

Greenville Track Club Records, 1972-1986

Greenville Woman's College Records, 1855-1976; bulk 1920-1937

Greenville Woman’s Club Records, 1948-2004; bulk 1960-1973

Gwen Bristow Galley Proof for Celia Garth, 1959

H. T. Mills Investment Ledger, 1950-1969

Hattie Finlay Jones Papers, 1974-1975

Hattie Lake Correspondence, 1844-1898 (bulk 1866-1868)

Henry Bacon McKoy Scrapbook Collection

Hugh R. Garden Civil War Correspondence, 1861, 1864-1865

Information For Students

Introduction to Special Collections and Archives

Irene S. Howard World War II Correspondence, 1937, 1942-1944

J. Lyles Alley Papers, 1929-1990

J. Martin England Papers, 1932, 1954-1978

J.B. Howell, Jr. Collection, 1917-2004; bulk 1950s – 1980s

James Clement Furman D.D. Papers, 1827-1892

James Clement Furman, President 1859-1879

James F. Esten’s Account Book and Journal, 1833-1837

James H. Devotie Papers, 1839-1908

James H. Irby Papers, 1855-1858

James J. Collins, Jr. Papers, 1943-1976

James L. Lancaster, Ph.D. Dissertation, “The Origins of Native White Republicanism in NC, 1850-1868” Manuscript Draft

James L. Orr, Jr. Papers, 1876-1907

James S. Mims Papers, 1835-1854

John E. and Martha Johns Papers, 1947-2008

John E. Rouse, Jr. Papers, 1963-2014

John Edwin Johns, President 1976-1994

John H. Bonser Collection of British Legal Documents, 1845-1906

John H. Harrison Family Papers, 1849-1912; bulk 1884-1892

John L. Plyler Family Collection, ca. 1900 – 2014

John L. Plyler Scrapbook Collection, 1938-1965

John L. Plyler, Jr. Collection, 1949-2005 inclusive; bulk 1949-1965

John L. Plyler, Jr. Postcard Collection

John Laney Plyler, (1939-1964)

John O. Donaldson Correspondence, 1917-1919

John P. Frank Papers, 1957-1979

John S. Hill Family Papers, 1860-1901, inclusive; bulk 1861-1863

Joseph M. Greer Collection of Thomas Wolfe, ca. 1930s-1940s

Judith T. Bainbridge GWC Research Collection

Julia W. Croft Family Papers, 1830-1937 inclusive; bulk 1920-1937

Kellogg Grant Project Collection, 1976-1978

Kirby Songbook Collection, 1910-1953

L.H. Fox Collection of first day of issue covers, 1960-1972 inclusive

LGBTQ+ Zine and Small Press Collection, 1970 –

Libby Bernardin Papers, 1993-2022

Loulie Latimer Owens Papers, 1940-1989

Lucile Nix Papers, 1922-1968

Marjorie McIver Barr O’Steen Family Collection, 1834-1993 inclusive: bulk 1930-1964

Marjory Wentworth Papers, 1995-2022

Mary Bridges Barr Family Papers, 1863-1898

Mary C. Judson and Stella Rossignol Postcard Collection, 1905-1920

Mary Earle Plyler Scrapbook, 1873, 1882-1936

Mauldin and Sloan Family Papers, 1826-1923; bulk 1867-1873

Max M. Heller Papers, 1938-2019

McIver Family Papers, 1825, 1834-1849

Melburn and Lida Odom Collection of Gospel and Shape Note Singing Books

Microtonal Music Archive

Miles, Wever, and Todd Family Papers, circa 1784-2017

Mims Family Correspondence, 1834–1878

Music Collections

Nan Watkins Collection of Thomas Rain Crowe, 1976-2024

Ollin Jackson Owens Papers, 1931-1984; bulk 1931-1960

P.C. Gregory, Jr. Photographs from the Mediterranean, Peru, Brazil and Mexico, circa 1960s

Patrick McGill Family Papers, 1818-1880

Paul Rice Papers, 1981 – 2005 inclusive

Paula Feldman Collection on Mignonette B. Johnson, 1891-1896

Peggy Sauvain souvenir theatre program collection, 1933 – ca. 1941 and undated

Post-Bellum Rental Contracts Collection, 1868, 1896-1909

Poteat Family Papers, 1891-2006; bulk 1930-1960

Raven I. McDavid, Jr. Papers (unprocessed)

Raymond and Irma Gale World Travel Collection, circa 1948-1992

Records Management

Rev. Arnold W. Eaves Papers, 1971-1997

Rev. Benjamin F. Broadway, Sr. Papers, 1934-1999 inclusive; bulk 1964-1994

Rev. David J. Wells Papers, 1942-1975 inclusive

Rev. Dr. W. Horace Benjamin Papers, 1957-1978

Rev. Dr. W.H. Tipton Family Papers, 1907 – 1988

Rev. Edwin R. Quattlebaum Research Collection, 1794-2001, bulk 1801-1953

Rev. Emerson L. Isler Papers, 1952-1988

Rev. H. Floyd Surles Papers, 1911-1971 inclusive

Rev. Harry A. Bagby Papers, 1895-1945

Rev. J. P. Isenhower Papers, 1809-1965

Rev. J.D. Bailey Papers, 1898-1908, 1924 and undated

Rev. J.O.B. Dargan and Rev. John Hugh Dargan Papers, 1830-1878

Rev. Jesse Earle Bailey Papers, 1924-1946

Rev. Jesse Hartwell Papers, 1824-1860 inclusive

Rev. John R. Jester Papers, 1898-1963

Rev. John Stout Papers, 1870-1891

Rev. Jonathan Davis Family Collection, 1832-1908

Rev. Jonathan Davis Papers, 1785-1854; bulk 1823-1850

Rev. Oliver Hart Journal, 1754

Rev. Oliver Hart Papers [photocopies], 1755-1795

Rev. Richard Ward Burts Papers, 1892-1920

Rev. Thomas J. Earle Sermons, circa 1849-1850

Rev. William B. Johnson Collection, 1821 – 1861; bulk 1846-1854

Richard B. Furman, M.D. Patient Journals and Medical Account Books, 1872-1955

Richard D. Sawyer Historic Greenville Collection, 1818-2006

Richard D. Sawyer Postcard Collection, 1904-1969

Richard Furman D.D. Papers, 1777-1825

Richard Judson Towill Class Notes, 1867, 1870 and undated

Robert "Bob" W. Smith Collection, 1936-1942

Robert Adger Bowen Poems, 1890-1925

Robert C. Tucker International Travel Collection, 1970-2005

Robert D. Shrum Papers, 1990-1992

Robert G. Brooks’ Essays on Thomas Wolfe and Collection of the Thomas Wolfe Newsletter, 1977-1980

Robert J. Belue unpublished short stories, undated

Rodney Alan Smolla, President 2010-2013

Roger R. Varin Papers, 1991-2015

Rosa Bogar Publicity Collection, 1983, 1997-2018

Rose J. Forgione Collection, circa 1930s-1997

S.C. Baptist Church Records on Microfilm

S.C. Baptist Historical Collection

S.C. College Association of Reading Educators (SC-CARE) Records, 1981-1995

S.C. Poetry Archives

Sampey Family Papers, 1856-2002

Samuel McBride Pringle Civil War Correspondence, 1859-1862, 1923, 1995

Scott Owens Papers, 1989 – 2022 inclusive

Sheet Music Collection, 1886-2006

Small Manuscripts Collection, 1819-2014

South Carolina Theatre Association Records, 1967-2018

Sumner A. Ives Lantern Slides Collection, 1927-1933

T. Edwin Ware Family Papers, 1784-1967; bulk 1832-1895

Talmage Gerrald Family Papers, 1916-1939

The Greenville Little Theatre Programs and Playbills Collection, 1962-1982

The Professional Homemakers’ Club of Greenville Records, 1966-1970

The Rotary Book Club (Greenville, S.C.) Records, 1910-2019

The Thursday Afternoon Club (Greenville, S.C.) Records, 1897-2016

The Thursday Club (Greenville, S.C.) Records, 1889-2022

Thea Furman Papers, 1838-1996

Thomas Baldwin D.D. Letter to Rev. Luther Rice, 22 Nov 1819 [transcription]

Thomas Carlisle Herbert Collection, 1894-1933

Thomas Crymes Papers [photocopies], 1867-1868

Thomas Rain Crowe Papers, 1949-2013

UA 00/021 Minor Mickel Trustee Papers, 1990-1992

UA 03/002 Charles Manly Papers

UA 03/007 William J. McGlothlin Collection, 1902-1933 (inclusive); bulk 1926-1932

UA 03/008 Bennette Eugene Geer Papers, 1926-1938

UA 07/002 Academic Policies Committee, Duncan McArthur files

UA 07/006 Faculty Curriculum Committee

UA 07/008 Faculty-Administration Liaison Committee, Duncan McArthur files

UA 07/073 Faculty Task Force on Tenure

UA 13/005 Harvey Tolliver Cook Papers, 1881-1933; bulk 1891-1927

UA 13/010 Olivia Futch Papers, 1927-1975

UA 13/012 Duncan McArthur Collection, 1969-2002

UA 13/012 Furman Hall Renovation: Humanities Faculty Initiative Papers, 1999-2004

UA 13/018 Sidney Ernest Bradshaw Papers, 1890-1938

UA 46/002 Greenville County Council for Community Development (GCCCD) Records, 1936-1941

UA 46/007 Furman-Greenville Fine Arts Association Records, 1960-1992

University Archives

W.J. Megginson Travel Collection, ca. 1980s-2000s

Warren Slesinger Papers, 1999-2016

William B. Coxe Glass Plate Negatives Collection, 1915-1933

William D. Simpson Papers, 1850-1897; bulk 1861-1868

William G. Whilden Collection, 1876, 1880, 1893

William G. Whilden Research Ledgers, before 1894

William H. Blymyer Papers, 1898-1928

William H. Stewart GWC Research Collection, 1963-1964

William Joseph McGlothlin (President 1919-1933)

William Walker, A.S.H. Manuscript: “Miss Elizabeth Adams’ Music Book,” circa 1832-1833

Winston C. Babb Dissertation and D.H. Gilpatrick Typescript

Woman’s Auxiliary to the Greenville County Medical Society Records, 1927-1950

Woodside Cotton Mills Cash Ledger, 1914-1915

World War I Archival Resources

World War II Archival Resources

My Subject Specialties

No subject specialties have been selected.

Last Updated:
URL: