Skip to main content

New summer library services with curbside pickup

Furman University home page

Music Collections

Please e-mail specialcollections@furman.edu with comments & questions

Special Collections for Music highlights a partnership between the Special Collections and Archives department and the Music Library at Furman University. The role of Special Collections in the partnership will be to curate materials which require distinctive care and to collect manuscript and ephemeral materials.

Currently, the collection has two components: the Local Music Collection and the Manuscript Collection. The Local Music Collection concentrates on music with a connection to Greenville or the larger Upstate community, with an emphasis on traditional music styles. The Manuscript Collection is composed of materials from significant contributors to any musical endeavor, while an emphasis is placed on materials considered important for music scholarship, as well as materials relating to Furman University faculty and alumni.

Music Manuscript Collections

Andrew Balent Collection

Charlie Spivak Music Collection

William Walker, A.S.H. Manuscript : “Miss Elizabeth Adams’ Music Book”

Sheet Music Collection

The Sheet Music Collection consists chiefly of American sheet music published in the United States between the years 1886-2006. The vast majority is for voice and piano.  The collection is organized in the following categories:

  • Beginners
  • Furman
  • Holidays
  • Images of African-American
  • Images of Women
  • International
  • Nineteenth Century
  • Regional
  • Religious
  • South Carolina
  • TV, Broadway, and Movie Scores
  • Twentieth Century
  • Wartime and Patriotic
  • Women Composers

Pieces specific to South Carolina were digitized in 2007 and are available in the Digital Collections Center

Songbook Collections

Melburn and Lila Odom Collection of gospel and shape note volumes

William H. Kirby Songbook Collection