Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Book Awards: Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Various book awards and links to the books in our collection. Happy reading!

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Author Award

2021: Before the Ever After by Jacqueline Woodson
2020: New Kid by Jerry Craft
2019: A Few Red Drops by Claire Hartfield
2018: Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson
2017: March Book: Three by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin

Illustrator Award

2021: Frank Morrison for R.E.S.P.E.C.T.
2020: Kadir Nelson for The Undefeated

2019: Ekua Holmes for The Stuff of Stars
2018: Ekua Holmes for Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets
2017: Javaka Steptoe (author) for Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jenny Colvin
Library 132