Skip to Main Content

Book Awards: Hugo Awards

Various book awards and links to the books in our collection. Happy reading!

About the award

Hugo Awards 2021 adds best video game category - Game World ObserverThe Hugo Awards, first presented in 1953 and presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) which is also responsible for administering them.

Award for Best Novel

2022: A Desolation Called Peace, by Arkady Martine
2021: Network Effect by Martha Wells

2020: A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

2019: The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal

2018: The Stone Sky by N.K. 
2017: The Obelisk
Gate by N.K. Jemisin
2016: The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

2015: The Three Body Problem by Cixin Liu, translated by Ken Liu
2014: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
2013: Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi
2012: Among Others by Jo Walton
2011: Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis

2010: The City & The City by China Miéville
         The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

2009: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
2008: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon
2007: Rainbows End by Vernor Vinge
2006: Spin by Robert Charles Wilson
2005: Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke
2004: Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
2003: Hominids by Robert J. Sawyer
2002: American Gods by Neil Gaiman
2001: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling
2000: A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge
1999: To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
1998: Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
1997: Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
1996: The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson
1995: Mirror Dance by Lois McMaster Bujold
1994: Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
1993: A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge
         Doomsday Book by Connie Willis

1992: Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold
1991: The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold
1990: Hyperion by Dan Simmons
1989: Cyteen by C. J. Cherryh
1988: The Uplift War by David Brin
1987: Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
1986: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
1985: Neuromancer by William Gibson
1984: Startide Rising by David Brin
1983: Foundation’s Edge by Isaac Asimov
1982: Downbelow Station by C. J. Cherryh
1981: The Snow Queen by Joan D. Vinge
1980: The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur C. Clarke
1979: Dreamsnake by Vonda N. McIntyre
1978: Gateway by Frederik Pohl
1977: Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang by Kate Wilhelm
1976: The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
1975: The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin
1974: Rendezvous With Rama by Arthur C. Clarke
1973: The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
1972: To Your Scattered Bodies Go by Philip José Farmer
1971: Ringworld by Larry Niven
1970: The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
1969: Stand on Zanzibar by John Brunner
1968: Lord of Light by Roger Zelazny
1967: The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein
1966: Dune by Frank Herbert
1965: The Wanderer by Fritz Leiber
1964: Here Gather the Stars (alt: Way Station) by Clifford D. Simak
1963: The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick
1962: Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein
1961: A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M. Miller, Jr.
1960: Starship Troopers (alt: Starship Soldier) by Robert A. Heinlein
1959: A Case of Conscience by James Blish
1958: The Big Time by Fritz Leiber
1957: No novel award
1956: Double Star by Robert A. Heinlein
1955: They’d Rather Be Right by Mark Clifton and Frank Riley
1954: Fahrenheit 451 (alt: The Fireman) by Ray Bradbury(retro)
1953: The Demolished Man by Alfred Bester
1951: Farmer in the Sky by Robert A. Heinlein (retro)
1946: The Mule by Isaac Asimov (retro)

For additional awards, please check out the Hugo Awards website.

Award for Best Novel

2019: The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal
2018: The Stone Sky by N.K. Jemisin
​2017: The Obelisk Gate by N.K. Jemisin
2016: The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

2014: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
2013: Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi
2012: Among Others by Jo Walton
2011: Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis

2007: Rainbows End by Vernor Vinge
2006: Spin by Robert Charles Wilson
2005: Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke
2004: Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
2003: Hominids by Robert J. Sawyer

2000: A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge

1998: Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
1997: Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson

1994: Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
1993: A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge

1992: Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold
1991: The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold
1990: Hyperion by Dan Simmons
1989: Cyteen by C. J. Cherryh
1988: The Uplift War by David Brin
1987: Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card

1985: Neuromancer by William Gibson
1984: Startide Rising by David Brin
1983: Foundation’s Edge by Isaac Asimov
1982: Downbelow Station by C. J. Cherryh
1981: The Snow Queen by Joan D. Vinge
1980: The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur C. Clarke

1978: Gateway by Frederik Pohl
1977: Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang by Kate Wilhelm
1976: The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
1975: The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin
1974: Rendezvous With Rama by Arthur C. Clarke
1973: The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
1972: To Your Scattered Bodies Go by Philip José Farmer
1971: Ringworld by Larry Niven
1970: The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
1969: Stand on Zanzibar by John Brunner

1968: Lord of Light by Roger Zelazny

1965: The Wanderer by Fritz Leiber
1964: Here Gather the Stars (alt: Way Station) by Clifford D. Simak
1963: The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

1961: A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M. Miller, Jr.

1960: Starship Troopers (alt: Starship Soldier) by Robert A. Heinlein
1959: A Case of Conscience by James Blish
1958: The Big Time by Fritz Leiber
1957: No novel award
1956: Double Star by Robert A. Heinlein
1955: They’d Rather Be Right by Mark Clifton and Frank Riley

1951: Farmer in the Sky by Robert A. Heinlein (retro)
1946: The Mule by Isaac Asimov (retro)