Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Book Awards: Scotiabank Giller Prize

Various book awards and links to the books in our collection. Happy reading!

ScotiaBank Giller Prize

The Giller Prize was founded in 1994 by Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, who passed away from cancer the year before. The award recognized excellence in Canadian fiction – long format or short stories – and endowed a cash prize annually of $25,000.00, the largest purse for literature in the country.

Award for Fiction

2019: Reproduction by Ian Williams
2018: Washington Black by Esi Edugyan
2017: Bellevue Square by Michael Redhill
2016: Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien
2015: Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis
2014: Us Conductors by Sean Michales
2013: Hellgoing by Lynn  Coates
2012: 419 by Will Ferguson
2011: Half-Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan
2010: The Sentimentalists by 
Johanns Skibsrud

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jenny Colvin
Library 132