Skip to Main Content

Book Awards: Anisfield-Wolf

Various book awards and links to the books in our collection. Happy reading!

Anisfield-Wolf Award

Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards | PBSThe Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards recognize books that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and our appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures. For over 80 years, the distinguished books earning Anisfield-Wolf prizes have opened and challenged our minds. It is the only juried American book prize focusing on works that address racism and diversity.

Cleveland poet and philanthropist Edith Anisfield Wolf established the book awards in 1935, in honor of her father, John Anisfield, and husband, Eugene Wolf, to reflect her family’s passion for social justice. The Cleveland Foundation, the world’s first community foundation, has administered the Anisfield-Wolf prize since 1963. Before then, the Saturday Review sponsored the awards. From the early 1960s until 1996, internationally renowned anthropologist and author Ashley Montagu chaired the awards jury. That panel of globally prominent scholars and writers has since been overseen by Henry Louis Gates Jr., the acclaimed scholar, lecturer, social critic, writer, and editor.

Award for Fiction

Award for Nonfiction

2014:     My Promised Land by Ari Shavit

Award for Poetry

2020:    Deaf Republic by Ilya Kaminsky

2019:    Wade in the Water by Tracy K Smith

2015:    The New Testament by Jericho Brown
              Hard Love Province by Marilyn Chin
2014:    The Big Smoke by Adrian Matejka
2013:     My Favorite Warlord by Eugene Gloria
2012:     no award
2011:     no award

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
robyn andrews
she / her
James B Duke Library 102A