Skip to Main Content

Book Awards: Women’s Prize for Fiction

Various book awards and links to the books in our collection. Happy reading!

Women's Prize for Fiction

Six Debut Novelists Are on the 2018 Women's Prize for ...The Women’s Prize for Fiction is one of the most respected, most celebrated and most successful literary awards in the world. An annual award, it celebrates the very best full length fiction written by women throughout the world. Through the initiatives and promotions set up by the WPFF, even appearing on the shortlist significantly boosts a novel’s sales and ensures an author’s work will be promoted in bookshops and libraries the world over.

This prize has previously been called the Orange Prize and the Bailey's Women's Prize.

Fiction Awards

2005: We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
2004: Small Island by Andrea Levy
2003: Property by Valerie Martin

2001: The Idea of Perfection by Kate Grenville

1999: A Crime in the Neighborhood by Suzanne Berne
1998: Larry's Party by Carol Shields

1996: A Spell of Winter by Helen Dunmore