Skip to Main Content

Book Awards: International Booker Prize

Various book awards and links to the books in our collection. Happy reading!

International Booker Prize

An offshoot of the Booker Prize established in 2005. The award originally operated similarly to the Nobel Prize. It was awarded biennially and honored one writer's oeuvre. In 2016, the award changed to awarding one book translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland. Many major writers in world literature have been nominated. This makes the award, especially the early years, one that any nominee could have reasonably won. Do not ignore the nominees!

Award under the original format

2009- Alice Munro

2011- Philip Roth

2013- Lydia Davis

Award under the current format

2017- A Horse Walks into a Bar by David Grossman