Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Book Awards: Jhalak Prize

Various book awards and links to the books in our collection. Happy reading!

Jhalak Prize

​The Jhalak Prize was started in 2016 by authors Sunny Singh, Nikesh Shukla and Media Diversified, with support from The Authors’ Club and funds donated by an anonymous benefactor, the prize of £1000.  The Jhalak Children’s & YA Prize was founded in 2020 with a matching amount of £1,000 for the winner. The two prizes exist to support and celebrate writers of colour in Britain.

The prizes are unique in that they accept entries published in the UK by writers of colour. These include (and not limited to) fiction, non-fiction, short stories, graphic novels, poetry and all other genres. The Jhalak Children’s and YA Prize accepts books for children and  teens and young adults including picture books, chapter books, graphic novels, poetry, non-fiction, and all other genres by writers of colour and aimed at young readers. The prizes are also open to self-published writers.


2021 Adult: The First Woman by Jennifer Nansubuga Makmubi
2021 Children/YA: Eight Pieces of Silva by Patrice Lawrence
2020: Afropean: Notes from Black Europe by Johny Pitts
2019: In Our Mad and Furious City by Guy Gunaratne
2018: Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge
2017: The Bone Readers by Jacob Ross

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jenny Colvin
Library 132