Skip to Main Content

Book Awards: National Book Award

Various book awards and links to the books in our collection. Happy reading!

About the award

National Book Awards - National Book FoundationThe mission of the National Book Foundation is to celebrate the best literature in America, expand its audience, and ensure that books have a prominent place in American culture.
From 1986 to 1990, independent panels of writers chose the National Book Award Winners in the categories of only Fiction and Nonfiction.  The National Book Foundation reinstituted the Poetry Award in 1991 and launched the Award for Young People’s Literature in 1996. In 2013, the judging panels were opened to non-writers with significant literary expertise in each category.

Award for Fiction

2021: Hell of a Book by Jason Mott
2020: Interior Chinatown by Charles Yu
2019: Trust Exercise by Susan Choi
2018: The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
2017: Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward
2016: March: Book Three by John Lewis
2015: Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
2014: Redeployment by Phil Klay
2013: The Good Lord Bird by James McBride
2012: The Round House by Louise Erdrich
2011: Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward
2010: Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon
2009: Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann
2008: Shadow Country by Peter Matthiessen
2007: Tree of Smoke by Denis Johnson
2006: The Echo Maker by Richard Powers
2005: Europe Central by William T. Vollmann
2004: The News from Paraguay by Lily Tuck
2003: The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard
2002: Three Junes by Julia Glass
2001: The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
2000: In America by Susan Sontag
1999: Waiting by Ha Jin
1998: Charming Billy by Alice McDermott
1997: Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
1996: Ship Fever and Other Stories by Andrea Barrett
1995: Sabbath's Theater by Philip Roth
1994: A Frolic of His Own by William Gaddis
1993: The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx
1992: All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy
1991: Mating by Norman Rush
1990: Middle Passage by Charles Johnson
1989: Spartina by John Casey
1988: Paris Trout by Pete Dexter
1987: Paco's Story by Larry Heinemann
1986: World's Fair by E. L. Doctorow
1985: White Noise by Don DeLillo
1984: Victory over Japan: A Book of Stories by Ellen Gilchrist
1979: Going After Cacciato by Tim O'Brien
1978: Blood Tie by Mary Lee Settle
1977: The Spectator Bird by Wallace Stegner
1976: JR by William Gaddis
1975: Dog Soldiers by Robert Stone
1974: Gravity's Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon
1973: Chimera by John Barth
1972: The Complete Stories of Flannery O'Connor by Flannery O'Connor
1971: Mr. Sammler's Planet by Saul Bellow
1970: Them by Joyce Carol Oates
1969: Steps by Jerzy Kosinski
1968: The Eighth Day by Thornton Wilder
1967: The Fixer by Bernard Malamud
1966: The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter by Katherine Anne Porter
1965: Herzog by Saul Bellow
1964: The Centaur by John Updike
1963: Morte D'Urban by J.F. Powers
1962: The Moviegoer by Walker Percy
1961: The Waters of Kronos by Conrad Richter
1960: Goodbye, Columbus by Philip Roth
1959: The Magic Barrel by Bernard Malamud
1958: The Wapshot Chronicle by John Cheever
1957: The Field of Vision by Wright Morris
1956: Ten North Frederick by John O'Hara
1955: A Fable by William Faulkner
1954: The Adventures of Augie March by Saul Bellow
1953: Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
1952: From Here to Eternity by James Jones
1951: The Collected Stories of William Faulkner by William Faulkner
1950: The Man With The Golden Arm by Nelson Algren

Fiction (Hardcover)
1980: Sophie's Choice by William Styron
1981: Plains Song by Wright Morris
1982: Rabbit is Rich by John Updike
1983: The Color Purple by Alice Walker

Fiction (Paperback)
1980: The World According to Garp by John Irving
1981: The Stories of John Cheever by John Cheever
1982: So Long, See You Tomorrow by William Maxwell
1983: Collected Stories of Eudora Welty by Eudora Welty

Award for Fiction

Fiction (Hardcover)