Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Book Awards: Neustadt International Prize for Literature

Various book awards and links to the books in our collection. Happy reading!

Neustadt International Prize for Literature

The Neustadt International Prize for Literature has been given out biennially since 1970 and is sponsored by the University of Oklahoma and World Literature Today. Similarly to the Nobel Prize, it honors "outstanding achievement in poetry, fiction, or drama", and "it may serve to crown a lifetime’s achievement or to direct attention to an important body of work that is still developing." The prize has had so much overlap with the Nobel Prize that it has come to be known among lovers of world literature as the "American Nobel". As of 2020, 32 Laureates, Finalists, and Jurors have won the Nobel Prize. Recent convergences include: 1988 Finalist Peter Handke (Nobel 2019), 2012 Finalist Bob Dylan (Nobel 2016), and 1994 Finalist Svetlana Alexievich (Nobel 2015).

Neustadt International Prize for Literature Laureates

2014- Mia Couto

2010- Duo Duo

2008- Patricia Grace


2000- David Malouf

1996- Assia Djebar



1988- Raja Rao

1986- Max Frisch

1982- Octavio Paz