Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Databases for Health Science
The premier database for biomedical and health sciences literature. It also includes nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. This link includes the Furman Full Text button on records for full-text access.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Covers topics such as physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, and much more.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
This full text, multi-source database provides single-search access to the wide variety of health information sources in Health Reference Center plus 40 full text nursing and allied health journals. All in a single, easy-to-use database, Health Reference Center—Academic integrates the full text of respected nursing, allied health, and medical journals; consumer health magazines; reference books; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; referral information; and topical overviews.
Indexes 6,000 biology journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources for students and faculty who need in-depth, advanced information for biological research.
MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE contains all citations published in Index Medicus, and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index and Index to Dental Literature.
Email your librarian with Science Direct article citation information or check with library staff at the Research Assistance Desk or the Circulation Desk during library hours. We will order an electronic copy for you at no charge.
Covers the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Indexing back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990