A comprehensive collection of scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes 7,500 articles. The core content includes Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes.

Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from over 2000 English language journals. Also includes book reviews.

Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender.

Coverage: 1893 - current

A collection of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Ethnic NewsWatch comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:

• African American/Caribbean/African
• Arab/Middle Eastern
• Asian/Pacific Islander
• European/Eastern European
• Hispanic
• Jewish
• Native People

Of the more than 2.5 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are presented in Spanish; dozens of major Latino publications are featured.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Over 22,000 new abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations are added to the database annually.

U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Includes over 5,000 primary source documents, reference materials, and journal titles.