Furman University home page
Loading...
Databases by Subject: English Databases
Browse the most relevant databases for your topic by subject.
Your Librarian
Mary Fairbairn
She, her, hers
Contact:
James B. Duke Library
Furman University
3300 Poinsett Highway
Greenville, SC 29613
Furman University
3300 Poinsett Highway
Greenville, SC 29613
864-294-3226
Best Databases for English
- ACLS Humanities E-Books
A digital collection of 2,200 full-text titles offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with fourteen learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. Fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
- Book Review Digest PlusIndexes English-language fiction and non-fiction book reviews.
- Book Review Digest RetrospectiveBook Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included.
- Books and Authors (Gale)Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Books & Authors facilitates exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction.
- Contemporary NovelistsConcise discussions of the lives and principal works of contemporary novelists, written by subject experts. 7th edition of includes Biography, bibliographies and critical essays on approximately 650 contemporary writers, 100 new to this edition. Includes nationality and title indexes.
- Contemporary Poets7th edition provides biographical and bibliographical information on 787 of the world's most important contemporary English-language poets, 120 new to this edition. Entries typically include personal and career information, addresses, a detailed bibliography, a list of further reading sources and more. Each entry also includes a signed critical essay covering each poet's career and works. Includes nationality and title indexes.
- Dictionary of Literary BiographyProvides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Access is from volume 349 to present.
- Dictionary of Old English CorpusSearch the full text of Old English works by individual word, phrase, title, or author. Contains approximately three million words of Old English and two million words of Latin. If a particular text is significant because of dialect or date, there may be more than one copy of the work included in the Corpus.
- Early English Books OnlineContains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Essay & General Literature IndexIndexes "essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications such as Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society, The Supreme Court Review, Dickens Studies Annual, and Anglo-Saxon England are indexed. 1985 to the present.
- Films on DemandFilms on Demand is a source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Streaming video is available in a variety of subject areas.
- Humanities and Social Sciences RetrospectiveIndexes nearly 1,200 periodicals, as far back as 1907. Citations to more than 1,300,000 articles, including over 240,000 book reviews. Indexes scholarly journals published throughout the 20th century in North America and Europe. In addition to coverage of the humanities and social sciences, the database covers many scientific journals through the 1950's.
- Humanities Full TextH.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
- International Medieval BibliographyContains 300,000 records of articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies. Includes a comprehensive cataloguing and indexing system, using familiar, multilingual terminology. The index contains 120,000 terms, classified into six types (subjects, persons, texts, places, manuscripts, etc.)
- JSTORJSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
- ProQuest One LiteratureProQuest One Literature contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
Enhanced by interpretive sources such as book reviews and criticism sourced from wider, interdisciplinary publications in the fields such as humanities and history, it provides diverse, global perspectives with sources from all over the world – Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America - the majority of which are in full-text. - Literary IndexGale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature series published by The Gale Group. It combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 140,000 titles into one source. Gale's Literary Index provides quick and easy access to 40 of our literary series. These series contain complete Biography on authors and critical essays on their writings. Titles Indexed.
- Literary Reference SourceProvides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
- Literature Resource CenterProvides access to Biography, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes access to the Scribner Writer's Series and Twayne World, Twayne US, and Twayne English Authors.
- Gale Literary SourcesResearch authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
- MLA BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- Magill's Literary AnnualContains over 6,900 reviews of significant works of fiction and nonfiction across subjects, genres, and countries. Provides coverage for works that are likely to be of particular interest to the general reader, that reflect the publishing trends of a given year, and that will stand up to the test of time.
- Oxford Companion to the BookWork of reference, covering the book throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Includes traditional subjects such as bibliography, palaeography, the history of printing, editorial theory and practice, textual criticism, book collecting, and libraries, and also engages with newer disciplines such as the history of the book and the electronic book. Pays particular attention to how different societies shape books and how books shape societies.
- Oxford Reference OnlineIndexes the full text of over 100 Oxford subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Parker LibraryParker Library on the Web provides access to high-resolution digital copies of every imageable page of most manuscripts in the Parker Library of Corpus Christi College (Cambridge University Press, 1912). The collection includes 559 manuscript, most of which were numbered and catalogued by M. R. James in his 1912 catalogue of the collection, as well as volumes given to the library after the James catalogue was published.
- Women Writers Online
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.
For More Information
- *English
- ENG 339: Emerson to Dickinson (T. Helwig)
- ENG 405: Female Gothic Literature
- ENG 455: Shakespeare
- FYW: Disaster Literature
- Medieval Studies
-
S.C. Poetry Archives
by Special Collections and Archives Last Updated Feb 10, 2025 123 views this year