Please note that items in bold are described in the Library's online catalog and you will need to review the catalog to obtain the call number of each item.

I. Manuscript and Archival

• American Newspaper Collection-Headlines and Front Pages, 19th to 21st Century
• Baptist Newspapers and Periodicals
• Furman University Student Publications
• Nineteenth Century American Newspapers and Periodicals
• Popular Magazines: 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries
• AIDS and Sexuality Periodical Collection

II. Books and Published Materials

• South Carolina newspapers, editor John Hammond Moore, 1988
• The popular magazine in Britain and the United States, 1880-1960, David Reed, 1997
• A history of popular women's magazines in the United States, 1792-1995, Mary Ellen Zuckerman, 1998

Please note that items in bold are described in the Library's online catalog and you will need to review the catalog to obtain the call number of each item.

Bonhomie - 1901-present (The Bonhomie from 1901-2019 has been digitized and is publicly available for online viewing on the Digital Collections Center website).

The Dialectic - September 1997-Spring 2003

The Hornet (Furman student newspaper) - 1916-1961; available online.

The Furman Paladin (Furman student newspaper) - 1962-1969; available online.

The Paladin (Furman student newspaper) - 1970-present; available online through 2023.

The Furman Echo (student literary magazine) - 1893-1923

The Echo (student literary magazine) - 1923-present

Furman Humanities Review - 1988-present; Volume 32 (2021) also available online.

The Isaqueena (a literary periodical from the Greenville Woman's College) - 1924-1933, available online.

Newspapers

• Charleston Courier newspaper, August 13, 1806. This paper contains advertisements and articles related to various topics, such as slavery and race relations, agriculture, health, and medicine.
• New Hampshire Patriot newspaper, July 30, 1816. This paper contains advertisements and articles on various topics including slavery and race relations, agriculture, nature, health, medicine, and death
• Daily National Intelligence, Washington D.C. newspaper, August 7, 1827. This paper contains rewards and sales advertisements for runaway slaves.
• Christian Index, 1829-1832
• The Southern Baptist and General Intelligencer a/k/a/ The Southern Baptist 1836-1867, scattered issues
• The Primitive Baptist, Jan-May 1838
• The Columbian Star and Christian Index, July 1829-Dec. 1830, July 1831-June 1833
• The Baptist Guardian, September 15, 1848
• The Yankee Blade, August 1848 - August 1849
• The Charleston Mercury newspaper, January 15, 1849. This particular paper contains advertisements and articles on such topics as Slavery, race relations, crime, violence, health, medicine, disease, death, and nature.
• The Connecticut Courant newspaper, May 12, 1860. This newspapers contains advertisements and articles on slavery, race relations, medicine, disease, death, agriculture and events leading up to the Civil War.
• Charleston Daily Courier newspaper, May 17, 1860. This paper contains articles and advertisements for topics like Slavery and Race Relations, Health, Medicine, and a letter from a prominent Civil War secessionist and Congressman, Howell Cobb, about the Union.
• New-York Tribune newspaper, February 19, 1862. This paper contains articles and advertisements on many different topics such as slavery, race relations, and the Civil War. For example there are a couple of articles about the Sea Island Slaves of South Carolina. It also covers Civil War events such as the Battle of Fort Donelson, and funding for the Union military.
• The Confederate Baptist, Oct. 1862-Dec. 1864
• The Weekly Register/Niles Weekly Register, 1814-1837
• Frank Leslie's Illustrated, Nov. 24, 1860 - Nov. 16, 1861 and Sept 24, 1864 - Dec. 30, 1865.
• Kind Words for the Sunday School Children, 1866, 1886, 1890, 1892
• The Working Christian/ The Baptist Courier, 1869 to present

Periodicals

• ​The New-York mirror, and ladies' literary gazette, 1830
• The New-York mirror, 1830-1842
• The American almanac and repository of useful knowledge, 1830-1853, 1861
• 80 Godey's Full Color Fashion Plates, 1838-1880
• Godey's lady's book, 1842-1882, scattered volumes
• The Southern Review, 1828-1832
• Southern Literary Messenger, 1834-1864
• The Southern Quarterly Review, 1842-1857
• De Bow's Review of the Southern and Western States, 1850-1852
• De Bow's Review, 1853-1862
• The American review: a Whig journal of politics, literature, art, and science 1845-1852
• Harper's Magazine, 1852-1860; 1890-1891
• Putnam's monthly magazine of American literature, science and art, 1853-1870
• Graham's magazine, 1841-1856; Graham's illustrated magazine, 1856-1858
• The American review: a Whig journal of politics, literature, art, and science 1845-1850
• Harper's Weekly Map, Nov. 23, 1861 showing proportion of slaves in each county
• De Bow's Commercial Review of the South and West, 1864-1850
• Women's 19th century Popular Magazine Collection - single issues 1875, 1898
• Harper's Bazaar, 1881
• Victorian fashions and costumes from Harper's Bazaar, 1867-1898 Stella Blum, 1974
• A history of popular women's magazines in the United States, 1792-1995, Mary Ellen Zuckerman, 1998

19th Century

20th Century

21st Century

Men's 20th Century

Children's 20th Century

19th Century

• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 24-25, 1842
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 26-27, 1843
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 28-29, 1844
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 30-31, 1845
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 32-33, 1846
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 38-39, 1849
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 40-41, 1850
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 42-43, 1851
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 45, 1852
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 46-47, 1853
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 48-49, 1854
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 50-51, 1855
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 52-53, 1856
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 54-55, 1857
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 56-57, 1858
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 58-59, 1859
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 60-61, 1860
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 62-63, 1861
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 64-65, 1862
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 66-67, 1863
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 82-83, 1871
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 86-87, 1873
• Godey's Lady's Book, v. 98-99, 1879
• “New York Yacht Club Costumes” from Godey’s Fashions, 1878
• Harper's Bazaar, 1881
• The Delineator, February 1891
• Ladies’ Home Journal, June 1898

20th Century

• The Delineator, April 1904
• Modern Women, July 1904
• Pictorial Review, December 1912
• Good Housekeeping, June 1918
• The American Magazine, August 1919
• McCall’s, October 1925
• McCall’s, November 1926
• McCall’s, July 1927
• McCall’s, June 1928
• McCall’s, March 1929
• McCall’s, September 1931
• Pictorial Review, April 1933
• McCall’s, September 1933
• Hearst’s International with Cosmopolitan, July 1934 (NRA Member)
• Ladies’ Home Journal, June 1936
• Good Housekeeping, August 1936
• Pictorial Review combined with Delineator, June 1938
• Ken : The Insider's World, April 7, 1938, Vol. 1, No. 1
• Ken : The Insider’s World, April 21, 1938, Vol. 1, No. 2
• Life, November 4, 1940
• Ladies Home Journal, December 1942
• Cosmopolitan, March 1949
• Seventeen, May 1949
• McCall’s, June 1949
• Ladies’ Home Journal, January 1951
• Cosmopolitan, September 1951
• McCall’s, Fall 1951
• McCall’s, Summer 1952
• Ladies’ Home Journal, February 1953
• Harper’s Magazine, September 1953
• Harper’s Magazine, April 1954
• Collier’s, October 15, 1954
• See Magazine, May 1953, 1954, March and May 1955
• Woman’s Home Companion, April 1956
• Ladies’ Home Journal, November 1956
• Redbook: The Magazine for Young Adults, October 1957
• Teen, June 1960
• Ladies’ Home Journal, Summer 1962 
• Vogue, January 1963
• Cosmopolitan, August 1964
• Cosmopolitan, February 1967
• Esquire Magazine, Special Issue: “Shaping the Seventies,” December 1969
• Seventeen, March 1972
• Ms. Magazine, July, August, September 1972
• Essence, October 1973
• Seventeen, January 1974
• Seventeen, January 1975
• Ebony, August 1975
• JET, July 8, 1976, Black Bicentennial Collector's Issue
• Ebony, August 1977
• Essence, August 1983
• Seventeen, April 1984
• Vogue, July 1994
• Essence: 25 years celebrating Black women, 1995
• Ebony, Annual Women's Issue, March 1997
• Bazaar, April 1997
• Vogue (UK), October 1997

21st Century

• Seventeen, January 2000
• Good Housekeeping, September 2000
• Ladies' Home Journal, September 2000
• Elle, October 2000
• In Style, September 2009
• Inside, October 2009
• Marie Claire, October 2009
• Talk, November 2009
• In Style, December 2009
• Seventeen, January 2010
• Elle, July 2010
• Good Housekeeping, July 2010
• Ladies' Home Journal, September 2010

Men's 20th Century

• Nuggett: The Man's World, June 1959

Children's 20th Century

• St. Nicholas, June 1923