Skip to Main Content

Sponsored by Carolyn ’67 and Joseph ’68 Warden

UNDERGRADUATE SUMMER FELLOWSHIPS. Since 2017, Special Collections and Archives has offered two 10-week summer fellowships for Furman undergraduates. These competitive fellowships allow students to perform original research using materials in Special Collections and Archives for a research or creative project of their own design. Fellows receive a summer stipend in addition to lodging on campus for the period and are expected to be in residence during that time. While Fellows will work independently, it is expected that they have a faculty sponsor who can provide occasional advice and guidance (either on-site or remotely) during the fellowship period. Fellows will also work closely with the faculty and staff of the Furman Libraries during their time in residence. Following its completion, Fellows are expected to submit a short report on their fellowship experience and a copy of their completed project to be added to Special Collections and Archives and FUSE. They may also be asked to take part in a public presentation of their work for the Furman community during the fall semester following their fellowship and participate in Furman Engaged! in the spring.

FACULTY TEACHING FELLOWS. During the summer, the Furman Libraries has offered two short-term fellowships for Furman faculty to encourage the creative use of special collections materials for high-impact classroom experiences. Fellowships were open to all Furman faculty members. Recipients received a stipend and were expected to spend at least one week (or 40 hours) in residence in Special Collections and Archives, working with library faculty and staff. Time was spent exploring the unique rare books, manuscripts, and archival materials within the department, developing course modules or assignments that utilize them, meeting with library faculty and staff in other departments such as the Digital Collections Center, and working with Special Collections faculty and staff to plan effective ways of incorporating these materials into future courses.