1. Saving Citations in RefWorks2. Create & Manage Folders3. Generating Bibliographies4. Write-N-Cite for Word
This is the "Home" page of the "Citing Your Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MAIN LIBRARY HOURS
Loading hours... Loading Animation
  • Catalog
  • Articles
  • Databases
  • eJournals
  • Digital Collections
  • Library Website

Citing Your Sources  

Last Updated: Nov 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.furman.edu/citing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian for Help Citing

Email

Send a message anytime to libraryreference@furman.edu.

In-Person
Come by the Research Assistance Desk on your right as you enter the James B. Duke Library right in the heart of campus.

Phone
Give us a call at (864) 294-2195

Text
Send us a text message at (864) 214-7172

Chat

One does not simply "use" a source ...

Citing your sources is one of the most important parts of research. This guide will help you navigate the most common styles for citations. It will also provide access and assistance with citation managers that can help you save, organize, and cite references for large papers and projects. 

If you have questions about plagiarism or citation, your professor is the best place for help. But you can also stop by the libraries for help at the Research Assistance Desk or the Writing + Media Lab.

The links below will take you into the guide for resources on plagiarism, specific styles, and citation managers.

 

Style Manuals

Use the links below to find hard copies of the most common style guides or perform a catalog search to find more specific styles.

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Find a print copy of the APA Manual at the Research Assistance Desk, in the Reference Collection, or on permanent reserve at any of the libraries.

Cover Art
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Find a print copy of the MLA Handbook at the Research Assistance Desk, in the Reference Collection, or on permanent reserve at any of the libraries.

Cover Art
The Chicago Manual of Style
Find a print copy of the Chicago Manual of Style at the Research Assistance Desk, in the Reference Collection, or on permanent reserve at any of the libraries.

The full text of the 16th and 15th edition are also available in The Chicago Manual of Style Online.

Citation Managers

  • RefWorks  
      
    Create a personal database of references that can be organized, formatted, and shared easily. References can be imported directly from databases or text files. Generate bibliographies in hundred of styles or use Write-n-Cite to automatically insert references into your Word document.
  • NoodleTools
    Generate, edit, and publish an entire bibliography in the most common styles. NoodleBib takes care of punctuation, alphabetization, and formatting to produce a polished source list for import into Word.
  • Zotero
    Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. You can add items with a single click in your browser and then store PDFs, images, audio and more in a single searchable interface.
  • Mendeley
    Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. You can generate bibliographies, collaborate, import papers, and access your information from anywhere online.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip