Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Actual Manual
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Call Number: On reserve/reference in all libraries
The chapters on books and journals provide advice pertinent to both electronic and print publication, and authoritative online resources are listed where available.
The Manual also provides detailed instructions on citing non-traditional sources and creating correct abbreviations for titles that are not listed in the tools below.
Journal Abbreviation Tools
Updating CSE to Full End Pages in RefWorks
If you are using RefWorks to format papers in CSE 8th Name-Year Sequence (the preferred style of the Furman Biology Department), you will need to update the CSE style in RefWorks in include full end pages for journal articles. You can use the Institution Style "Full End Page for CSE 8th, Name-Year" or make your own version of the style.
Step-by-step instructions to updating CSE in your own style are available in the document linked below:
Online CSE Guides
These sites provides examples and basic instructions for citing in CSE in-text and generating a reference list.
Create a personal database of references that can be organized, formatted, and shared easily. References can be imported directly from databases or text files. Generate bibliographies in hundred of styles or use Write-n-Cite to automatically insert references into your Word document.
Generate, edit, and publish an entire bibliography in the most common styles. NoodleTools takes care of punctuation, alphabetization, and formatting to produce a polished source list for import into Word.
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. You can add items with a single click in your browser and then store PDFs, images, audio and more in a single searchable interface.
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. You can generate bibliographies, collaborate, import papers, and access your information from anywhere online.
More Citation Assistance
Citing Your Sources
Online guide from Furman Libraries with more details on citing resources, citation management tools, and academic honesty.