This is the "Home" page of the "Digital Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
  • Catalog
  • Articles
  • Databases
  • eJournals
  • Digital Collections
  • Library Website

Digital Collections  

Last Updated: Aug 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.furman.edu/digital-collections/collections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Art Department Slide Library

Art Department Slide LibraryLogin Required

Digital copies of Furman University's Art Department extensive slide library. The original slides had previously been used in class, but due to the limited use of the slides and the increasing scarcity of replacement parts for slide projects, this digital collection was created.

 

August Sander and Weimar Republic

August Sander and the Weimar RepublicLogin Required

August Sander (1876-1964) was a photographer in Germany during the period known to history as the Weimar Republic. The pictures in this collection have been selected from his seven-volume masterwork, People in the 20th Century.

 

Byzantium

ByzantiumLogin Required

Images from the collection of History Professor David Spear which focus primarily on the Byzantine Empire. Contents include mosaics, floor plans, maps, and buildings.

 

Children of Asia and the World

Children of Asia and the WorldLogin Required

Photographs of children from around the world, currently focusing primarily on Asia. Countries include Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, East Timor, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Laos, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, and Thailand.

 

Civil War Correspondence

Civil War Correspondence

Peruse over 100 letters from Furman alumni who served in the Civil War. The collection contains 16 letters from Samuel McBride Pringle (who died in 1861 from a wound sustained at the Battle of Antietam) and 91 letters between Charles M. Furman (son of the University’s first president) and his sweetheart Frances Garden. The letters are part of the Furman Special Collections and Archives.

 

Coin Collections

Coin Collections

A collection of more than 700 coins, the majority of which were created during the Roman Republic and Roman Empire. In addition to the ancient coins, there are also a number of coins which were created in the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. These coins are predominately from European kingdoms and Latin American mints.

 

Czech Republic and Central Europe

Czech Republic and Central Europe

Photographs taken by Furman University Education professor Michael Svec. Although the majority of the photographs are from the Czech Republic, photographs from Slovakia, Vienna, Lithuania and Poland are also included.

 

Digitized Microformat Materials

Digitized Microformat Materials

Digitized microformat documents from the Furman Library. Materials submitted by other institutions or individuals will be noted in each item's metadata.

 

Documentaries on the History of Modern Europe

Documentaries on the History of Modern Europe

Documentaries created for the class HST 104 based on independent student research in primary and secondary sources. The films aim to explore the role of men and women as historical actors, and focus on the ways in which individual lives were shaped by the historical forces of their era.

 

Earth and Environmental Sciences Materials

Earth and Environmental Sciences MaterialsLogin Required

Instructional materials created for and used primarily by the Earth and Environmental Sciences department. Creation of this collection was made possible by a 2010 ACS Faculty Renewal Grant Award awarded to Weston Dripps, Associate Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Furman University.

 

Furman Army ROTC

Furman Army ROTC

Photographs, pamphlets, and other materials on the history of ROTC at Furman beginning in the 1960s. The Furman University Department of Military Science was organized in the fall of 1950 as an Armored Cavalry ROTC Unit.

 

Furman Cougar Project

Furman Cougar Project

The Furman Cougar Project (2008-2013) collection contains photographs from the Ladder Ranch in Sierra County, New Mexico. The cameras used in the capturing of photos were funded in part by the Oregon Zoo Future for Wildlife Conservation Grant and sponsored by Michelle Schireman. Photos in this collection were contributed by Travis Perry, Furman Associate Professor of Biology.

 

Furman Faculty Notices

Furman Faculty NoticesLogin Required

This collection contains the meeting agendas and minutes, committee reports, and other materials related to the faculty of Furman University. The collection is only accessible to current Furman University faculty.

 

Furman Family Letters

Furman Family Letters

The Furman Family Letters will contain letters from three collections: The Richard Furman Papers (1775-1825); The James Clement Furman Papers (1828-1891); and The Furman Family Papers (1782-1960).

 

Furman Glass Plates

Furman Glass Plates

Scans from glass plate negatives housed in Special Collections and Archives at Furman University. These images represent both Furman and the Greenville Woman's College and span the years 1915 to 1933, with the majority from 1928 to 1932.

 

Furman Magazine

Furman Magazine

First published in December 1951, the Furman Magazine is currently published quarterly for alumni and friends of the University. The magazines contain rich historical content about the creation of the current campus and the accomplishments of University professors, alumni, and friends.

 

Furman New Campus Photos: 1950-1962

Furman New Campus Photos: 1950-1962

This collection contains nearly 350 photographs of the new campus of Furman University located at 3300 Poinsett Highway in Greenville, SC. The photographs date from 1950-1962, and show the creation of the new campus including the construction of buildings, and the transitions from the downtown campus of Furman University and Greenville Woman's College.

 

Furman Old Campus Photos: 1851-1958

Furman Old Campus Photos: 1851-1958

This collection contains over 2,000 photographs of the old main campus of Furman University located in downtown Greenville, SC along the Reedy River. Images cover over 100 years, dating from 1851 until 1958 when this location closed down after its relocation to 3300 Poinsett Highway.

 

Furman Oral History Project

Furman Oral History Project

Oral histories recorded by history professor Courtney Tollison and her students. Many of the recordings feature Furman's own rich history and the history of Greenville. Some notable interviewees include Max and Trude Heller, Charles Townes, President John E. and Martha Johns, and John Plyler, Jr.

 

Furman Student Newspapers

Furman Student Newspapers

This collection contains digitized copies of the Furman University student publication The Furman Hornet (1916 to 1961) and copies of The Paladin (1961-1999). Additional issues will be added in the future.

 

Furman Trustees Minutes

Furman Trustees MinutesLogin Required

This collection contains the minutes from the regular meetings of Furman University's Board of Trustees from 1825 to 1949. Minutes from the Executive Committee, Executive Meetings, and all minutes after 1949 have been removed.

 

Furman University Natural History

Furman University Natural History

The Furman Natural History Collection is dedicated to preserving the natural history of Furman University, initially focused on the Furman Lake, sustainability, and the environmental impact of humans.

 

Greenville Woman's College

Greenville Woman's College

The collection contains over 500 documents, postcards, and photographs from the Greenville Woman's College of Greenville, South Carolina.

 

Historical Newspapers

Historical NewspapersLogin Required

High quality scans of selected issues of The Illinois State Register and The Charleston Courier from the Spring of 1860.

 

A History of Costumes

A History of CostumesLogin Required

A History of Costumes shows the evolution of costumes and clothing over the years - from the ancient Greeks right up to the present time.

 

Homer Multitext Manuscripts

Homer Multitext Manuscripts

This collection contains images commissioned by the Center for Hellenic Studies of four Homeric manuscripts of the Iliad, housed in the Marciana Library: the tenth-century Marcianus Graecus Z. 454 (= 822) (Venetus A), the eleventh-century Marcianus Graecus Z. 453 (= 821) (Venetus B), the twelfth/thirteenth-century Marcianus Graecus Z. 458 (= 841), and Codex E4.

 

Images of Germany - Austria - Switzerland

Images of Germany - Austria - SwitzerlandLogin Required

Photographs of Europe taken by Dr. Jane Chew, Professor of German. Locations depicted include Budapest, Cologne, Rome, Vienna, and Salzburg, among others.

 

Marie Antoinette

Marie AntoinetteLogin Required

Paintings, drawings, and caricatures depicting the life of Marie Antoinette - from her birth in 1755 to the 1789 French Revolution and ultimately her execution October 16, 1793.

 

Medieval History

Medieval HistoryLogin Required

Images and video from the collection History Professor David Spear which focus primarily on the Middle Ages.

 

New Orleans

New OrleansLogin Required

Graphs, maps, photographs, and other visual representations of the city of New Orleans, Louisiana. The content was gathered or created by Diane Boyd (Center for Teaching and Learning); Lloyd Benson (History); Suresh Muthukrishnan (Earth and Environment Sciences); and Libby Young (Library).

 

Overland Trip from Indonesia to England (1976)

Overland Trip from Indonesia to England (1976)Login Required

Photographs from Education professor Shirley Ritter's overland trip from Indonesia to England, January - May 1976.

 

Postcard Collections

Postcard Collections

Digital copies of postcards kept by Special Collections and Archives. The collections include: Ethel Howard Postcard Collection; Furman University Postcard Collection; and South Carolina Postcard Collection.

 

Religion in Life Lectures

Religion in Life LecturesLogin Required

Recordings of lectures from the Religion in Life Lecture series at Furman University. Spanning from 1967 to the present, this collection will ultimately contain lectures from well-known religious and political figures as well as members of the Furman community.

 

South Carolina Sheet Music Collection

South Carolina Sheet Music CollectionLogin Required

Selected South Carolina sheet music from the the Furman Special Collections & Archives. Items date  from the 1920s - 1940s and include Carolina Lullaby, Carolina Moon, Carolina in the Morning and other popular tunes.

 

Spain Travels

Spain TravelsLogin Required

Photographs from the collection of Linda Bartlett, Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures (Spanish). Digital images were created from slides of Spain from her study away and personal travels.

 

Travels of Robert Tucker

Travels of Robert TuckerLogin Required

Photographs taken and collected by former Furman University Director of Libraries, Dr. Robert Tucker. Currently, this collection includes materials from trips to: East Asia; Italy; Norway; Scandinavia; and South America, among others.

 

University Yearbooks and Catalogs

University Yearbooks and Catalogs

This growing collection will ultimately contain digitized copies of all the catalogs and yearbooks of the University. Currently, the collection includes the Furman University Bonhomie yearbooks, dating 1901 - 1932 and 58 of the Greenville Woman's College Course Catalogs, spanning 1857 - 1937.

 

Ware Family Manuscripts Collection

Ware Family Manuscripts CollectionLogin Required

A collection of manuscripts donated by the Ware Family and kept by Special Collections and Archives

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip