Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall library services

Furman University home page

Citing Your Sources: 5. Creating Bibliographies

Bibliographies for Papers

While these steps are a quick and easy way to generate a bibliography from your RefWorks library in your browswer, there are even more effective ways to use RefWorks add-ins for use in Microsoft Word and Google Docs to create in-text citations and bibliographies when writing papers. See information on Write-n-Cite for Microsoft Word and RefWorks in Google Docs for more details.

Updating CSE to Full End Pages in RefWorks

If you are using RefWorks to format papers in CSE 8th Name-Year Sequence (the preferred style of the Furman Biology Department), you will need to update the CSE style in RefWorks in include full end pages for journal articles. You can use the Institution Style "Full End Page for CSE 8th, Name-Year" or make your own version of the style.

Updated CSE style at bottom of list when searching cse in style options

Step-by-step instructions to updating CSE in your own style are available in the document linked below:

Ask a Librarian for Help Citing

Email

Send a message anytime to libraryreference@furman.edu.

In-Person
Come by the Research Assistance Desk on your right as you enter the James B. Duke Library right in the heart of campus.

Phone
Give us a call at (864) 294-2195

Text
Send us a text message at (864) 214-7172

Chat

Creating a Bibliography

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents menu, any folder, a selection of sources from a folder or from your search results list.

Navigate to the folder you want to use and "select all" or individually select the sources you want to cite and then click the Create bibliography icon

You can choose to create a bibliography for selected references or for all of the reference in the collection (or in All Documents if that's the view you are in). Select "Create Bibliography."

Next, search for your output style and select it. Recently used styles (up to 10) are temporarily stored under "Recent Styles." Styles that you have edited and created your own versions for can be found under "Mine." Institutional styles at Furman University, which is the CSE style for the Furman Biology Department can be found under "Institutional styles." The number of styles available in these drop-down menus are indicated in the parenthesis (#).

undefined

Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software. You can also select the "Copy to Clipboard" button to copy the formatting.

undefined

ALWAYS DOUBLE-CHECK THE FORMATTING OF YOUR BIBLIOGRAPHY. If something appears wrong, you will have to edit the metadata of the individual source and re-run the "create bibliography" option. If you use this browser option to create a bibliography, you can also edit the bibliography manually in your word processor.

Link to QuikBib Info Page

Did you know? RefWorks has powered ProQuest's QuikBib for years. Click here to learn more.