Simultaneously search more than fifty major historical American and Canadian newspapers, including the largest circulating African-American newspapers.

Provides digital images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

Provides access to early American newspapers from 1690 to1922. Offers over 2000 searchable historical American newspapers. Focuses largely on the 18th and early 19th century newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Also includes African American newspapers from 1827 to 1998.

Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

Searchable full image of every page of the Atlanta Constitution including all advertisements.

Searchable full image of every page of the Boston Globe including all advertisements.

Traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. Consists of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising more than two centuries of British history and culture.

Searchable full image of every page of the Chicago Defender including all advertisements. The Chicago Defender has been a voice of the black community with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.

Searchable full image of every page of the Chicago Tribune including all advertisements.

Searchable full image of every page of the Christian Science Monitor including all advertisements.

Searchable full image of every page of the Hartford Courant including all advertisements.

Indexes nearly 1,200 periodicals, as far back as 1907. Citations to more than 1,300,000 articles, including over 240,000 book reviews. Indexes scholarly journals published throughout the 20th century in North America and Europe. In addition to coverage of the humanities and social sciences, the database covers many scientific journals through the 1950's.

Searchable full image of every page of the Los Angeles Times including all advertisements.

Searchable full image of every page of the New York Daily Times and New York Times including all advertisements.

Searchable full image of every page of the New York Tribune including all advertisements.

The Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes the most popular, general-interest journals and magazines published in the United States from 1890 to 1982.

Full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London]. The archive covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Provides the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.

Searchable full image of every page of the Wall Street Journal including all advertisements. Coverage begins with 1889 and continues to an 8-year moving wall.

Searchable full image of every page of the Washington Post including all advertisements. Coverage begins with 1877 and continues to a 7-year moving wall.

Search the full text of Old English works by individual word, phrase, title, or author. Contains approximately three million words of Old English and two million words of Latin. If a particular text is significant because of dialect or date, there may be more than one copy of the work included in the Corpus.

Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Including over 180,000 (200,00 volumes) English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of works from the Americas. With full-text search capabilities this resource incorporates canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles.

ProQuest One Literature contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.

Enhanced by interpretive sources such as book reviews and criticism sourced from wider, interdisciplinary publications in the fields such as humanities and history, it provides diverse, global perspectives with sources from all over the world – Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America - the majority of which are in full-text.

Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Parker Library on the Web provides access to high-resolution digital copies of every imageable page of most manuscripts in the Parker Library of Corpus Christi College (Cambridge University Press, 1912). The collection includes 559 manuscript, most of which were numbered and catalogued by M. R. James in his 1912 catalogue of the collection, as well as volumes given to the library after the James catalogue was published.

Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.

ProQuest History Vault consists of manuscript and archival collections digitized in partnership and from a wide variety of archival institutions. Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century. On the topic of civil rights and Black Freedom, History Vault contains records of four of the most important civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE. History Vault's collections on Slavery and Southern plantations candidly document the realities of slavery at the most immediate grassroots level in Southern society and provide revealing documentation on the functioning of the slave system.

This resource includes documents issued by the British Government between 1834 and 1966. From coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence, the documents in Confidential Print: Africa cover the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the continent.

The documents of Confidential Print: Latin America cover the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s. Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, among other topics, the files in this title form a vital resource for any scholar of Latin American history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is a four-part historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. It consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts and maps from many different countries

The European Bureaus Collection provides coverage of Vienna, Geneva, Warsaw, Bern, Berlin, and Prague—as well as a special cross-bureau collection that covers conflicts and crises that affected the entire continent. These records include news stories in the form of typescript carbons or wire copy – the versions that AP sent on to its member newspapers. Among the most covered topics are WWII and post-war reconstruction, Nazism and its aftermath, the Cold War, espionage, the arms and space races, the fall of the Soviet Union, and many other events and movements.

With stories stemming from Jerusalem, Ankara, Beirut, and their surrounding areas, these records include news stories in the form of typescript carbons or wire copy – the versions that AP sent on to its member newspapers. Among the most covered topics are military operations, civil and global wars, diplomacy, refugees, cultural clashes, and terrorism, providing dynamic, real-time insights from the second half of the twentieth century.

Genealogical collection covering the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.

This resource showcases primary source material for the study of the First World War, from personal narratives and printed books to military files, propaganda pamphlets and strong visual documents. The material is complemented by a range of contextual secondary material, including scholarly essays, case studies and interactive maps.

Built in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, this full-color digital edition offers searchable facsimiles of 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900. Featuring documents produced locally across the country, these rare items vividly capture the daily lives of earlier Americans.

This collection includes thousands of papers presented to the British Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757, and that relate to the governance of, and activities in, the American, Canadian and West Indian colonies of England.

Colonial America consists of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them. This unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is an invaluable one for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world

From communal struggle to creative outpourings: uncover the everyday lives of African Americans spanning two turbulent centuries.

The wide range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century

For controversial issues.

For U.S. history.

For world history.

Census, vital, church, court and immigration records. Also slave narratives and Civil War documents.

Provides access to historic and current congressional information. Includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.