LibGuides: Databases by Content: Dictionaries

For More Information

cc liscenced flckr photo shared by jollyville

Oxford Reference Online
Indexes the full text of over 100 Oxford subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
ARTFL Project (French-English Resources)
ARTFL is a cooperative project of the Institut National de la Langue Française (INaLF) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)and the Divisions of the Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Chicago. Resources available through ARTFL include FRANTEXT, a database of nearly 2000 texts of French literature and non-fiction; several French-English dictionaries; the ARTFL Encyclopédie, a complete on-line version of the first edition of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclop
French texts in a variety of genres ranging from the 12th to the 19th centuries. French-English Dicrionaries

A Dictionary of Astronomy
A Dictionary of Biology
A Dictionary of Computing
A Dictionary of Earth Sciences
A Dictionary of Economics
A Dictionary of Law
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences
A Dictionary of World History
A Dictionary of World Mythology
A Dictionary of Zoology
An A-Z of Food and Drink
Concise Medical Dictionary
Dictionary of American Family Names
Contains the most commonly occurring surnames in the United States, giving their comparative frequencies, linguistic and historical explanations, selected associated forenames, and occasional genealogical notes. Explains the meanings—some intuitive, some amusing, and some quite surprising—of the family names for more than 90 percent of the U.S. population.

Dictionary of Old English Corpus
Search the full text of Old English works by individual word, phrase, title, or author. Contains approximately three million words of Old English and two million words of Latin. If a particular text is significant because of dialect or date, there may be more than one copy of the work included in the Corpus.
Dictionary of Old English: A - Le
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first centuries ( 600-1150 A.D.) of the English language. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100-1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary, the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English. More than one third of the Dictionary has been published, and more than half of the total entries have been written to date.
Grove Art Online
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Iincludes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations). Also includes images of the most frequently studied works of art.
More than 34 volumes in print.

The New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Provides coverage of films and filmmakers. Entrants include legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Includes a detailed essays; Biography; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies. More than 260 new entries and more than 200 updated entries. Includes more than 1,600 photographs.
more...less...
4 volumes in print

Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive dictionary of the English Language, including comprehensive etymologies, first date of usage noted by excerpt from attributed author. Incomparable.