LibGuides: Databases by Content: Images

Databases for Images

Artstor
Database consisting of more than one million images covering art, architecture and archeology. Collections can be searched as a whole or individually.
Made up of 10 distinct image collections: The Image Gallery; The Art History Survey Collection; The Illustrated Bartsch, The Carnegie Arts of the United States Collection, The Huntington Archive of Asian Art; The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; The Museum of Modern Art Architecture and Design Collection; Native American Art and Culture, National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution; and Schlesinger History of Women in America Collection.
ImageQuest
Offers access to approximately three million images from over 50 different collections. All images in Image Quest are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use including use in reports and projects or on school Web sites, newsletters, newspapers, flyers, and bulletins.
AP Newsroom (AP interface)
The AP Newsroom site allows users to download images for educational purposes only.
AP Newsroom (EBSCO interface)
Associated Press Images Collection - Enter your keywords first and then select the "Images" source type facet on the left.
Content in this database is intended for editorial, non-commercial use.

For More Information

Note that many other databases include images on the topics they cover, particularly encyclopedias and other reference sources such as Opposing Viewpoints in Context and the African American Almanac. Many of the Primary Sources databases include the full image of the historical newspapers and magazines they index.

Also, don't forget about non-subscription sources such as Wikimedia Commons and Flickr. Be sure to pay attention to copyright and fair use issues with these and all images you use.