Skip to main content

Fall library services

Furman University home page

University Archives

University Archives Classification Schedule

This Archives Classification Schedule is an outline of the holdings of the University Archives.  Record groups are the major administrative divisions of the overall collection.  Record series within these record groups are the discrete, distinct collections.  Record series vary considerably.  Some large series consist of fifty or a hundred boxes; other series are only a single sheet of paper.  Access to portions of some series is restricted.  

Record Groups

00 – University General

01 – Board of Trustees

02 – Trustee Committees and Task Forces

03 – Office of the President

04 – Office of the Assistant to the President

05 – Executive Councils

06 – Faculty

07 – Committees and Task Forces

08 – Office of Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

09 – Grants

10 – Office of the Associate Academic Dean 

11 – Office of the Associate Dean for Academic Records, Summer Session, and University Registrar

12 – Office of the Assistant Academic Dean for Center for Teaching and Engaged Learning (CTEL)

13 - Academic Departments

14 – Herring Center for Continuing, Graduate and Profession Education  

15 – Library

16 – Collections Management

17 – Furman (University Archives)

18 – Other University Organizations

19 – Office of the Vice President for Finance & Administration

20 – Administrative Services

21 – Facilities Services and Physical Plant

22 – Financial Services

23 – Conference and Event Services

24 – Timmons Arena

25 – Younts Center

26 – Office of the Vice President for Development

27 – Office of Alumni and Parent Engagement

28 – Office of the Vice President for Enrollment Management

29 – Planning and Institutional Research

30 – Office of the Vice President of University Communications

31 – Office of the Vice President for Student Life

32 – Athletics

33 – Associate Vice President for Spiritual Life and University Chaplain

34 – Information Technology Services (ITS)

35 – Human Resources

36 – Organizations and Clubs

37 –Student Government Association (SGA)

38 – Fraternities and Sororities

39 – Honor Societies

40 – Student Publications and Media

41 – Student Religious Organizations

42 – Student Life

43 – Audio-Visual (AV) Materials

44 – Photographs and Postcards

45 – Historical

46 – Furman and the Surrounding Community