Skip to main content

Fall library services

Furman University home page

Thomas Carlisle Herbert Collection, 1894-1933

Please e-mail specialcollections@furman.edu with comments & questions

Contents List

Box 1

Folder 1. Contains materials related to T.C. Herbert's military service, including ID cards, authorization papers, and official papers pertaining to his duties. There are 10 pieces in this folder.

Folder 2. Contains materials related to the death of T.C. Herbert, including personal effects inventories, grave location documents, and grave photograph information. There are 12 pieces in this folder.

Folder 3. Included are multiple unused postcards from France, particularly Langres and the surrounding areas. This is the location of T.C. Herbert's original grave. There are 22 postcards in this folder, most dating from after World War I.

Folder 4. Contains clippings, information sheets and itineraries, and other documents related to Mrs. Herbert's trip to T.C. Herbert's grave. There are 14 pieces in this folder.

Folder 5. Contains 3 letters dating from before 1917 to Reverend and Mrs. Walter Herbert.

Folder 6. Contains correspondence mainly from T.C. Herbert to his mother from January through July of 1917. There are 7 letters in this folder.

Folder 7. Includes correspondence mainly from T.C. Herbert to his parents from August through September 1917. There are 8 letters in this folder.

Folder 8. Contains correspondence dating from October through December 1917 mainly from T.C. Herbert to his parents. There are 12 pieces in this folder.

Folder 9. Contains correspondence mainly from T.C. Herbert to his mother and vice versa dating from January through February 1918. There are 21 pieces in this folder.

Folder 10. Includes correspondence mainly from T.C. Herbert to his mother and other family members dating from March through April of 1918. There are 22 pieces in this folder.

Folder 11. Includes correspondence mainly from T.C. Herbert to his mother and vice versa dating from May through June 1918. There are 11 pieces in this folder.

Folder 12. Contains correspondence from T.C. Herbert to his mother and other family members, as well as one from Madeleine Guidee dating from July through September 1918. There are 14 pieces in this folder.

Folder 13. Contains correspondence from T.C. Herbert to his mother and vice versa dating from October through December 1918. There are 21 pieces in this folder.

Folder 14. Contains correspondence from T.C. Herbert to his mother and several letters of condolences to the Herbert’s dated January through February 1919. There is also official correspondence notifying the Herbert’s of Carlisle's death. There are 9 pieces in this folder.

Box 2

Folder 15. Contains letters of condolence to the Herbert’s dated March 1 through March 15, 1919 concerning T.C. Herbert's death. There are 7 pieces in this folder.

Folder 16. Contains letters of condolence to the Herbert’s dated March 16, 1919 concerning T.C. Herbert's death. There are 36 pieces in this folder.

Folder 17. Contains letters of condolence to the Herbert’s dated March 17, 1919 concerning T.C. Herbert's death. There are 29 pieces in this folder.

Folder 18. Contains letters of condolence to the Herbert’s dated March 18, 1919 concerning T.C. Herbert's death. There are 23 pieces in this folder.

Folder 19. Contains letters of condolence to the Herbert’s dated March 19 through March 22, 1919 concerning T.C. Herbert's death. There are 23 pieces in this folder.

Folder 20. Contains mainly letters of condolence to the Herbert’s dated March 23 through March 31, 1919 concerning T.C. Herbert's death. There are 30 pieces in this folder.

Folder 21. Contains mainly letters of condolence to the Herbert’s dated April 1 through April 9, 1919 concerning T.C. Herbert's death. There are 14 pieces in this folder.

Folder 22. Contains mainly letters of condolence to the Herbert’s dated April 9 through April 30, 1919 concerning T.C. Herbert's death. There are 18 pieces in this folder.

Folder 23. Contains mainly letters of condolence to the Herbert’s dated May through June 1919 concerning T.C. Herbert's death. There are 21 pieces in this folder.

Folder 24. Contains correspondence dating from July through December 1919 to the Herbert’s. Many of the letters are written in French and are from military personnel or others in regards to T.C. Herbert. There are 26 pieces in this folder.

Folder 25. Contains correspondence from 1920 through 1921 to the Herbert’s. These letters are from associates of T.C. Herbert and also official documents regarding T.C. Herbert. There are 11 pieces in this folder.

Folder 26. Contains letters dating from 1922 through 1933 mainly to Mrs. Constance Herbert from associates of T.C. Herbert. There are several official documents regarding T.C. Herbert. There are 18 pieces in this folder.

Box 3

Folder 27.Contains letters to the Herbert’s that are undated, mostly regarding T.C. Herbert. There are 38 pieces in this folder.

Folder 28.Contains the compilation of transcriptions of many letters in the T.C. Herbert collection. This book was arranged and transcribed by Margaret Thomas and is called “My Dearest Carlisle... Letters between Constance Furman Herbert and her son Thomas Carlisle Herbert, 1917-1919.”

Folder 29.Contains various newspaper clippings and articles related to T.C. Herbert and soldiers of World War I. There are 29 pieces in this folder.

Folder 30.Contains various books and manuals belonging to T.C. Herbert during his service in World War I. There are 4 pieces in this folder.

Folder 31.Contains miscellaneous memorabilia and documents belonging to or related to T.C. Herbert, including pressed flowers from his grave, a handkerchief, and other documents. There are 18 pieces in this folder.

 

Folder 32. Contains photographs of members of the Giddings family with and without T.C. Herbert. There are 13 photographs in this folder.

Folder 33. Contains various photographs dating from 1894 through the 1920s of and relating to T.C. Herbert and his grave in France. There are 21 photographs in this folder.

Folder 34. Contains various envelopes with no corresponding letters from a variety of people. Envelopes are from the US and France. There are 54 envelopes in this folder.

Folder 35. Contains 3 large photographs of the cemetery at Langres, France where T.C. Herbert was originally buried.

Folder 36. Certificate, Thomas C. Herbert death, February 20, 1919 [digitized]

Folder 37. (Accretion 2011-014) Contains a photograph of Constance Theodora Furman Herbert at son's grave in France, a photograph of St. Mihiel American Cemetery and Memorial, and three letters from Carlisle to Alba in 1918.

Oversize in Map Case 2, Drawer 5

Contains travel maps of France and war maps of France and Europe. Also contains T.C. Herbert's certificate of appointment to Second Lieutenant. There are 8 maps and 2 certificates.