Acquisition

The donor of this journal is unknown. 

Custodial History:

The journal was in the possession of Furman’s Library before 1966 when Loulie Latimer Owens, Special Collections librarian from 1961-1968, completed her biography of Oliver Hart. Owens speculated that the journal was most likely preserved by Richard Furman and his descendants. As was the custom of the time, additional donated materials were added to the journal to make one collection. The journal was made a separate collection in 2019.

• Baptist Biographies File for Oliver Hart, Furman University Special Collections
• Rev. Oliver Hart Papers [photocopies], Acc. 1970-092, Furman University Special Collections
• Richard Furman Papers, Acc. 1960-016, Furman University Special Collections
• Oliver Hart Shoe and Belt Buckles, Baptist Artifacts, Furman University Special Collections
• Memorial plaque of Rev. Oliver Hart, S.C. Baptist Historical Society, 1966, Furman University Special Collections
• Year book ... City of Charleston, So. Ca., contains "Extracts from the Diary of Oliver Hart from A.D. 1740 to A.D. 1780 with introductory letter from William G. Whilden," Call No. Bapt JS13 .C3  1896 
• Oliver Hart, 1723-1795; a biography, by Loulie Latimer Owens, 1966. Call No. BX6495.H275 O9 
• Oliver Hart Papers, South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina

Access and Restrictions

Open to research without restrictions. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

[Identification of item], Rev. Oliver Hart Journal, Acc. 0000-053, Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.