Skip to main content
Furman University home page

Julia W. Croft Family Papers, 1830-1937 inclusive; bulk 1920-1937

Please e-mail specialcollections@furman.edu with comments & questions

Arrangement

The collection has been arranged in three series, one of which have been further arranged in subseries. The arrangement scheme for the collection was imposed during processing in the absence of a useable original order.

Series 1, Julia Wood Landrum Croft, 1882-1930

Series 2, John Morgan Landrum

Series 3, Other Family

               Subseries 1, Correspondence

               Subseries 2, Miscellany

Scope and Contents

The collection includes financial and legal documents, correspondence, essays, newspaper clippings, photographs, and advertising ephemera, reflecting the varied activities of Julia Wood Landrum Croft and her husbands.

Series 1 consists of both personal and business correspondence, financial and legal documents and nine compositions by Wood arranged alphabetically.

Series 2 consists mainly of business correspondence and financial documents dealing with farm business.  There is a letter regarding Mrs. Laura Smith’s share of the Iverson L. Brookes Estate, August 7, 1919.

Series 3 is further arranged in two sub-series: Correspondence and Miscellany. The Correspondence series contains correspondence to other family members, including Croft’s grandfather, Rev. Iverson Lewis Brooks, W.J. Wood, and her second husband, William M. Croft. Folder 1 includes an 1830 love letter from Baptist minister Luther Rice [1783–1836] to Croft’s grandmother, Susan (Sarah Julia Oliver, widow of James Myers), who married Iverson L. Brooks in 1831.  The Miscellany sub-series contains material from Croft’s aunt, Julia Brooks Graham, and her nephew, Morgan Oliver. There are also newspaper clippings, a pencil drawing, photographs, recipes, and assorted undated material.

There is a fundraising leaflet for the Local Committee of the Woodrow Wilson Foundation, Augusta, Ga. with William H. Fleming as chairman. Fleming was an attorney and former member of the U.S. House of Representatives, 1897 – 1903, was married to Julia’s cousin, and was said to have been a childhood friend of Woodrow Wilson.