Skip to Main Content

Administrative Information

Acquisition

Part of the collection is stamped with a red “01” [Acc. 1959-01] indicating that the materials were found in the library in 1959, having been given at some point to the S.C. Baptist Collection on the downtown campus. Alester G. Furman. Jr. donated some papers and books belonging to James C. Furman later in the summer of 1959 and these are stamped with a red “03” [Acc. 1959-03]. Drawings and Confederate currency were added to the collection in September 1960 and are marked with a red “20’ [1960-20]. Personal correspondence 1830-1841 was transferred from the Furman Family Collection by Melissa Bateman in December 2003.

Separated Material

  • Biographical material added by Furman family and the university was transferred to the Furmaniana file for James C. Furman.
  • Artifacts related to James C. Furman were added to the Artifacts Collection; snuffbox (DFAC # 03.03.009), traveling trunk and lap desk.

Publication Note

  • Numerous letters from the collection were transcribed in the book, The Life Work of James Clement Furman by Harvey Toliver Cook, 1926.
  • Letters from this collection written by Maria Baker Taylor are referenced in Baptist Faith in Action, The Private Writings of Maria Baker Taylor, 1813-1895, by Kathryn Carlisle Schwartz, 2003.

Related Material

  • Furmaniana file for James C. Furman
  • Furman Family Papers, 1782-1960, Acc. 1959-012
  • Davis Family Papers, 1932-1908, Acc. 1959-012
  • Rev. Jonathan Davis Papers, 1785-1854, Acc. 1964-047
  • Typescript sketch "Rev. James C. Furman" by Mrs. Mary G. Furman , UA 13/005 Harvey Tolliver Cook Papers, 1882-1933; bulk 1891-1927
  • Richard Furman Papers, 1777-1825, Acc. 1960-016
  • McIver Family Papers, 1834-1844, Acc. 0000-014
  • Deed, James C. Furman to Charles and Dora Furman, June 11, 1874 and Deed, L.W. Duvall, Sheriff to James C. Furman. June 5, 1875, Map Case 2, Drawer 1
  • James C. Furman’s spectacles [eyeglasses], Furman Family Collection, Series VI: Artifacts

Digitized Reproductions

Digital reproductions of [100 letters] from the Professional Correspondence Series as well as nine published sermons are available electronically in the Digital Collections Center https://cdm16821.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p16821coll2.

Access and Use

Access and Restrictions

Open to research without restrictions. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], James Clement Furman D.D. Papers, Acc. 1959-003, [Box#, Folder #] Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.