Skip to main content

Charles E. Daniel Family and White Oaks Collection, 1917-1987 and undated

Please e-mail specialcollections@furman.edu with comments & questions

Arrangement

The collection has been arranged in four series, one of which have been further arranged in subseries. The arrangement scheme for the collection was imposed during processing in the absence of a useable original order.

Series 1, Charles E. Daniel

Series 2, Homozel Mickel Daniel

Series 3, Photographs

               Subseries 1, Daniel Family

               Subseries 2, White Oaks

Series 4, Architectural sketches

Scope and Contents

The collection consists of material found at White Oaks that reflects the varied activities of the Daniel’s and the construction of White Oaks.

Series 1 contains items relating to Charles E. Daniel’s military, government, and public service. There are also resolutions presented after his death.

Series 2 focuses on the furnishings and gardens of White Oaks. Daniel’s fabric swatches and décor files are included as well as correspondence, drawings and photographs for antiques purchased and considered, as well as her gardening notebooks. An information file on Daniel’s American Bird Collection by Dorothy Doughty is included as are ribbons Daniel won at the Greenville Camellia Show. White Oaks cards and stationery and logo printing plates are included.

Series 3 contains photographs of the Daniel’s and some unknown people. Included are photographs as well as a photocopy of the original album pages of a dismantled photograph album about the Georgia-Pacific Corporation Board of Directors Meeting, July 28-31, 1957. Oversize photographs include the Daniel’s as well as photographs of politicians Richard Nixon, Lyndon B. Johnson and Dwight D. Eisenhower. There are also photographs taken during the construction of White Oaks.

Series 4 contains several architectural sketches relating to different aspects of the White Oaks facility.