Skip to main content
Furman University home page

William B. Coxe Glass Plate Negatives Collection, 1915-1933

Please e-mail specialcollections@furman.edu with comments & questions

Administrative Information

Acquisition

The glass plate negatives were likely donated in 1991-1992.

Custodial History

The heirs of William B. Coxe donated his entire studio contents to the Greenville County Historical Society in 1989.  Due to lack of space, the Coxe Photographic Collection, consisting of negatives, glass plate negatives, and acetate negatives, was transferred to Furman’s James B. Duke Library in summer 1989, with the title received October 19, 1989.  Due to the projected financial requirements for storage and preservation, the title and responsibility for the collection was transferred back to the Greenville County Historical Society November 6, 1990. The Coxe Collection left Furman University by the end of December 1991 bound for the Roper Mountain Science Center. The glass plate negatives related to the university were donated to Furman University.

Digitized Copies

Approximately 275 images have been digitized (166 GWC and 109 Furman University) and are part of Furman’s Digital Collections Center. These images include approximately 149 digitized by the Digital Collections Center during 2007-2008, and approximately 126 images digitized in spring 2011 by senior Matthew Sohner during an internship for Dr. Courtney Tollison's HIS 465 Experiential Learning in Local History class. 

Related Material

  • Folder, William B. Coxe Historical Photographic Collection, Box 2 and Box 19, RG 15/002 Library Administration, University Archives
  • Coxe Historical Collection, Greenville County Historical Society

Access and Use

Access and Restrictions

Due to the fragile materials contained within, access to this collection will only be provided with the assistance of Special Collections staff. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], William B. Coxe Glass Plate Negatives Collection, Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.