Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Library Resources: Special Collections

Sampling of classes that have visited us: 

ART 254 History of Photography

BIO 102 Biology and the Environment

COM 315 U.S. Public Address I: 1630-1865

CS 331 Media History

ENG 306 Victorian Literature and Culture

ENG 475 The Many Faces of Gothic

FRN 410 French Literature of Louis XIV

FYS 1104 Clothing as Self Expression

FYS 1118 Poetry from the Inside

FYS 1155 Comedy and Tragedy in Contemporary Nonfiction

FYS 1202 Jerusalem: One City, Three Faiths

FYW 1148 Southern Women, Black and White

HST 102 Medieval Europe

HST 465 Experiential Learning in History class

HST 475 War and Death in mid-Nineteenth Century North America

MS 111: American Military History

MUS 221 Medieval-Renaissance Music

SOC 101 Introduction to Sociology 

Welcome to Special Collections and Archives

William Gilmore Simms Research Room

 

Special Collections and Archives is located on the second floor of the James B. Duke Library.  Our mission is to actively support the research and instructional needs of all members of the Furman community to a standard of excellence. We do this by collecting, preserving, and making available a rich array of rare and unique printed materials, manuscripts, objects and artifacts, the permanent records of Furman University, and other documents of cultural heritage. 

We partner with faculty, students, and staff in the critical and imaginative use of our collections through research projects, exhibitions, programming, and digital projects. We serve as a welcoming and open research facility for students and scholars at all levels. And we use our expertise and subject knowledge to promote and support excellence and innovation in teaching, learning, and research, on campus and in the community.

Please let us know if we can be of assistance.  Please call Jeff Makala at (864) 294-2714 or email Special Collections.

We look forward to working with you and your students!

Associate Director for Special Collections and University Archivist

 
Jeffrey Makala
 
Contact Info
Special Collections and Archives
 James B. Duke Library, 2nd Floor
specialcollections@furman.edu
 864-294-2714
 

Open

Monday - Friday, 12pm - 5pm, and by appointment.