We are glad you're considering the transfer of social media account data to Special Collections and Archives!

We collect social media account data by requesting that transferrers download a copy of their data and transfer the resulting .zip file to us. Please contact Nashieli Marcano, Archivist for Digital Collections (nmarcano@furman.edu) if you have questions about transferring social media account data to the University Archives or if you are unsure if your data should be transferred. Here are the two steps that will guide you through the download and transfer processes.

Step 1: Download Social Media Account Data
The process for downloading social media data varies, depending on the platform. Refer to the official instructions given by each platform: 

Instagram - Please select to download the .zip file in JSON format
Twitter
Facebook for Organizational Pages 

Important: Please note that social media data download will likely include sensitive data that you may not have expected to view. For information on how the FUL Special Collections and Archives will handle such data, as well as options you have as an account holder, please review our Social Media Collecting Policy. Please note it can take anywhere from an hour to 48 hours to have your data downloaded. You will receive an email once the process is completed.

Step 2: Transfer Social Media Account Data
Please fill out the Social Media Account Data Transfer Form, which can be accessed below. 

Transfer Social Media Account Data

After Special Collections and Archives receive your social media account data, we will send you an acknowledgement and confirmation that would include details for future access to these materials in the University Archives. 

Thank you very much for contributing to Furman’s history.