Furman University home page
Loading...
Asian Studies: Find Articles
Guide to help you find resources related to the field of Asian Studies
Best Bets for Asian Studies Articles
These databases below are your best bets for finding quality journal articles.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies Contains over 590,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies in the field of Asian Studies from 1971 - present
- Social Sciences Full Text This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
- JSTOR JSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
- National bureau of Asian Research The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that provides independent research about US relations with Asia. Started in 1989, it contracts with specialists to conduct much of its research on topics including political, economic, energy, and health issues. This independent research is published in one of NBR's four publications: Strategic Asia, Asia Policy, NBR Analysis, or NBR Reports. Some articles may be viewed and downloaded in PDF for free, whereas others are offered as free previews with the option to purchase.
- Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Over 22,000 new abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations are added to the database annually.
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS Serials The ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Index is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. ATLASerials is an online collection of major religion and theology journals selected by leading religion scholars and theologians. Users can read articles or research the history of a topic from 1949 to the present. Also covers religious research in related fields such as sociology, anthropology, psychology, history, medic
- Humanities Full Text H.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Provides searching of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
- Factiva Access to more than 6,000 business, trade, and general publications and services, including same-day, full-text access to The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Financial Times, Los Angeles times and the Washington Post. Company and industry comparisons. Includes Reuters News Service reports. At least 150 dailies are available by 9:00 A.M. on day of issue. Limited to six seats.
How do I get the full text of an article from a database?
Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.
- If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF or HTML icon. Clicking on the PDF or HTML icon will give you the full text of the article.
- If you don't see a PDF or HTML icon, then clicking on the FULLText icon will automatically start the search process.
- If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database. Often this will take you directly to the article.
- If there is no online option, You will have the option to request a copy - from another library via interlibrary loan, or from our own collections via Scan & Deliver if available . Clicking the "Request a copy" link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account.
- You can also check the library catalog to see if the article is available in one of the library's print collections, and then go scan or photocopy the article yourself.
Country Specific Article & Primary Source Databases
- Afghanistan In 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War This collection of confidential correspondence, memoranda, orders, reports and other materials from the India Office provide a broad spectrum of information on military policy and administration, including the organization, operations and equipment of the army during the Third Anglo-Afghan War beginning on 6 May 1919 and ending on 8 August 1919.
- Translations of the Peking Gazette Online Translations of the Peking Gazette Online is a comprehensive database of approximately 8,500 pages of English-language renderings of official edicts and memorials from the Qing dynasty that cover China’s long nineteenth century from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912. As the mouthpiece of the government, the Peking Gazette is the authoritative source for information about the Manchu state and its Han subjects as they collectively grappled with imperial decline, re-engaged with the wider world, and began mapping the path to China’s contemporary rise.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) The collection of papers, including North China Herald, The China Press, The China Critic, and the China Weekly Review, provides a primary source chronicle of the country's turbulent transition from Imperial rule to the founding of the Republic. The Chinese Newspapers Collection captures all editions published 1832 through 1953.
- CNKI (Chinese Language Interface) The largest source of China-based information resources in the world, this database includes full-text and full-image access to over 9,000,000 articles from almost 7,000 academic journals published in China since 1994 on physical sciences and engineering, humanities and social sciences, medicine and agriculture.
- CNKI (English Language Interface) The largest source of China-based information resources in the world, this database includes full-text and full-image access to over 9,000,000 articles from almost 7,000 academic journals published in China since 1994 on physical sciences and engineering, humanities and social sciences, medicine and agriculture.
- China and the Modern World China and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology and Literary periodicals 1817-1949 documents the thoughts of Chinese intellectuals and Western missionaries and diplomats about China, and their efforts to understand Chinese culture and transform the nation in the years before 1949. The collection contains missionary, academic, and literary periodicals in English published in or about China.
- Documents on British Policy Overseas (1898 - 1990) This history database contains tens of thousands of U.K. government documents relating to Britain’s international relations, including foreign policy instructions, letters and memos, business reports, and more. These primary source materials have been selected by the official historians of Britain’s Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO).
Improve Your Search Strategy
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below. Total runtimes are indicated by parentheses.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingIt's not just for the birds! How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- Truncat*Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)
- Field SearchingUse the different fields to refine and narrow your search results. (1:05)
- Subject HeadingsUse subject headings to find related items quickly and easily. (1:24)
Selected Journals on China
Use this search box to find more journals at Furman. Use broad terms (ie, China or Asia*).
- Furman University Libraries E-Journal ListInterested in finding more journals on China and Asian Studies? Check the E-Journal List here.