Furman University home page
Loading...
Asian Studies: Primary Sources
Guide to help you find resources related to the field of Asian Studies
Online Asian Newspapers
- South China Morning Post (1903 - 1998) Access to the South China Morning Post from1903 - 1998.
- Korea Times, The (1956 - 2016) Access to The Korea Times from 1956 - 2016.
- Times of India, The (1838 - 2008) Access to The Times of India from 1838 - 2008.
- Translations of the Peking Gazette Online Translations of the Peking Gazette Online is a comprehensive database of approximately 8,500 pages of English-language renderings of official edicts and memorials from the Qing dynasty that cover China’s long nineteenth century from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912. As the mouthpiece of the government, the Peking Gazette is the authoritative source for information about the Manchu state and its Han subjects as they collectively grappled with imperial decline, re-engaged with the wider world, and began mapping the path to China’s contemporary rise.
Online Primary Collections
- China and the Modern World China and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology and Literary periodicals 1817-1949 documents the thoughts of Chinese intellectuals and Western missionaries and diplomats about China, and their efforts to understand Chinese culture and transform the nation in the years before 1949. The collection contains missionary, academic, and literary periodicals in English published in or about China.
- China, America and the Pacific China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries
- China: Culture and Society China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries
- China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980 This digital collection answers a need for English-language primary sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980
- Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 198
- East India Company From 16th-century origins as a trading venture to the East Indies, through to its rise as the world’s most powerful company and de facto ruler of India, to its demise amid allegations of greed and corruption, the East India Company was an extraordinary force in global history for three centuries.
- India, Raj and Empire Drawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947
- Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. This was a turbulent era in the region's history
- Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952.
- Meiji Japan The Edward Sylvester Morse Papers were given to the Peabody Museum in 1926 and consist of 99 boxes of personal and professional papers including diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts. We have digitised the collection in its entirety. The collection spans the full range of Morse’s interests from his career as a natural historian to his life-changing experiences in Japan. The Phillips library prepared a listing of the Morse collection comprising a biography, a scope and content note, a brief bibliography and a list of contents.
- Early Experiences in Australasia: Volume I Early Experiences in Australasia: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1788–1901 provides a view of events in the region from the arrival of the first settlers through to Australian Federation at the close of the nineteenth century. Through first-person accounts, including letters and diaries, narratives, and other primary source materials, we are able to hear the voices of the time and understand the experiences of those who took the great challenge in new lands. This release includes 5,148 sources equalling 91,484 pages.
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia The U.S. State Department Central Files contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats in foreign countries: special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; court proceedings and other legal documents; full texts of important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; and countless translations of high-level foreign government documents. The Countries covered in this module are: China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Philippine Republic, and Vietnam.
- U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945 The State Department Diplomatic Post Records consist of correspondence and reports from American diplomats stationed around the world. The following countries or cities are represented in this module: Japan; Cuba; El Salvador; Honduras; Nicaragua; Iran; Iraq; Beirut; Jerusalem; Aden; Lebanon; Russia and the Soviet Union.
India
