Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary & Historical Documents About China
Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954, include cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines,
19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East
Six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape.
General George C. Marshall’s Mission to China, 1945-1947
This collection is subdivided into six parts: War Department records; Records of the Marshall Mission relating to Political Affairs; Records of the Marshall Mission relating to Military Affairs; Records of the Division of Chinese Affairs; Records of John Carter Vincent; and, Marshall’s Report.
German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935
This collection provides documentation on Germany’s relations with China during the interwar period. Germany was instrumental in modernizing China’s industrial base and provided a military training mission and equipment for the armed forces of the Republic of China prior to the Second Sino-Japanese War.
Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945
This collection provides researchers with the opportunity to explore a unique period in China’s struggle toward a modern existence through the International Settlement in Shanghai.
Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department
The records are mostly instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials; the despatches are often accompanied by enclosures. There are records on: the Japanese occupation of Manchuria, beginning with the Mukden incident, in 1931; military action at Shanghai in 1932; further Japanese political and economic penetration into China, 1935-1936; and the course of the undeclared war between Japan and China, 1937-1939.
Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941
This collection reproduces the six principal Military Intelligence Division files relating exclusively to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics).
Records of the National Council for United States-China Trade 1973-1983
This collection documents the formation of the National Council for United States-China Trade and its role in the development of U.S.-China trade, and the Council’s library holdings relating to China’s trade and economy. The Council is an association of U.S. business firms interested in trade with the People’s Republic of China. It was formed in 1973 with the encouragement of the U.S. Government.
Records of the U.S. Information Service in China: Chinese Press Reviews and Summaries, 1944-1950
This collection of essential U.S. Information Service collections on the Civil War period provides a unique opportunity to understand immediate post-World War II Chinese history, comparative revolution, and early Cold War history.
The Amerasia Affair, China, and Postwar Anti-Communist Fervor
The Amerasia Affair was the first of the great spy cases of the postwar era. Unlike Alger Hiss or the Rosenberg cases, it did not lead to an epic courtroom confrontation or imprisonment or execution of any of the principals. The Amerasia Affair sheds light not only on debate as to who "lost" China, Soviet espionage, McCarthyism, and the loyalty program, but also on the bureaucratic intricacies of anti-communism in Washington.
The Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955
The Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955, provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period. This product comprises all 41 reels of the former Scholarly Resources microfilm product entitled Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955.
The Chinese Recorder and the Protestant Missionary Community in China, 1867-1941
Although it was intended primarily for the missionaries in China, the Chinese Recorder also circulated to mission supporters and theological schools in the home countries.
The Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council
This collection replicates all the minutes of meetings held by the Board of Directors of the Shanghai Municipal Council from July 1854 to December 1943. A wide range of topics were discussed at these board meetings, such as sanitation, transportation, telecommunication and postal service, taxation, urban planning, gas supply, street lighting, rickshaw operator management, animal protection, and police system.
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
This digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China’s human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990.
Selected Journals on China
Use this search box to find more journals at Furman. Use broad terms (ie, China or Asia*).
Credo Reference: Basic Search
Give these a try for general background. . . .
Online Encyclopedias and Guides:
General background on China...
Tools & Tutorials
If you're having trouble getting your ideas going, try reading a few encyclopedia articles. Look for keywords in the article and the different ways it's described there. Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited for more information on topic.
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
How to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
Learn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)