Furman University home page
Loading...
Asian Studies: India
Guide to help you find resources related to the field of Asian Studies
Primary & Historical Documents About India
- India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State DepartmentThis collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.
- India, Raj and EmpireDrawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947
- Global Missions and TheologyThis collection documents the broad range of Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries, and churches. In addition, it highlights activities in far-flung regions and countries, such as Africa, Fiji and Sandwich Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, Japan, and Hawaii.
- Medical History of British IndiaFrom the National Library of Scotland. The Medical History of British India collection consists of official publications varying from short reports to multi-volume histories related to disease, public health and medical research between circa 1850 to 1920.
- The Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives.
- India and its NeighborsU.C.L.A. Social Sciences
- The Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933During World War I, Indian nationalists took advantage of Great Britain’s preoccupation with the European war by attempting to foment revolution in India to overthrow British rule. Their activities were aided politically and financially by the German Government. Indian nationalists in the United States were active in the independence movement effort through fundraising, arms buying, and propagandizing through the Hindustan Ghadar newspaper published in San Francisco.
- First World War (Adam Matthew)Under "Popular Searches" chose Indians
- Internet Indian History SourcebookProvided by Fordham University.
Selected Journals on India
Use this search box to find journals at Furman. Use broad terms (ie, India or Trade or Southeast Asia)
Gale eBooks
Give these a try for general background. . . .
General background on India...
East India human development reportCall Number: Ref HC435.2 .E2145 2004
Encyclopedia of India : comprehensive coverage of India into the 21st centuryCall Number: Ref DS405 .E539 2008
Historical dictionary of IndiaCall Number: Ref DS405 .M27 2006 (also online)
The Oxford companion to economics in IndiaCall Number: Ref HC435.3 .O94 2007 (also online)
The Territories of IndiaCall Number: Ref DS445 .T47 2002
Tools & Tutorials
If you're having trouble getting your ideas going, try reading a few encyclopedia articles. Look for keywords in the article and the different ways it's described there. Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited for more information on topic.
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingHow to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- TruncationTired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)