Skip to Main Content

Administrative Information

Acquisition

This collection was accessioned with the John S. Hill Family Papers in 1987. The donor is unknown. The collection was made a separate collection in 2019.

Publication Note

Seven of the letters were transcribed for the article "Some Letters of William Dunlap Simpson 1860-1863" by Willard E. Wight. The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 57, no. 4 (1956): 204-22. http://www.jstor.org/stable/27566082.  These letters are indicated here with an asterisk*.

Related Material

  • Post-Bellum Rental Contracts Collection, 1868, 1896-1909
  • William Dunlap Simpson Papers, 1823-1900, South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina
  • Governor William Dunlap Simpson (1879-1880), RG: 520000, S.C. Archives
  • William Dunlap Simpson papers #3344, Southern Historical Collection, The Wilson Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill https://finding-aids.lib.unc.edu/03344/  
  • William Dunlap Simpson Papers, 1798-1914; (bulk 1852-1878), David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Duke University, Durham, NC
  • Simpson, John Wells. William Dunlap Simpson of South Carolina: A Biography. [Place of publication not identified]: [publisher not identified], 1900.

Access and Use

Access and Restrictions

Open to research without restrictions. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], William D. Simpson Papers, Acc. 1987-199 [Folder #], Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.