Skip to Main Content

Nan Watkins Collection of Thomas Rain Crowe, 1976-2022

Please e-mail specialcollections@furman.edu with comments & questions

Contents List

See the full-text finding aid in Print/Download for more detail.


Series 1: Crowe’s work and reviews in regional newspapers, journals and blogs

Box 1:

Folder 1: 1977-1984

Folder 2: 1985-1986

Folder 3: 1989-1993

Folder 4: 1994-1997

Folder 5: 1998

Box 2

Folder 1: 1999-2001

Folder 2: 2002-2005

Folder 3: “Zoro’s Field: Life at the End of the Road,” The Smoky Mountain News, Waynesville, NC, 2003-2005 (Chapters 1-10, 12-24 from Crowe’s memoir, Zoro’s Field) [Box 3-4 in this series contains Chapter 25 and duplicate copies]

Folder 4: 14 articles that appear as chapters in The End of Eden, The Smoky Mountain News, Waynesville, NC, 2000-2001, 2005

Folder 5: 2007-2010

Folder 6: 2011-2019

Box 3

Folder 1: 2020

Folder 2: 2021

Folder 3: 2022

Folder 4: Undated

Box 4: Oversize – Complete Issues

Smoky Mountain News, Waynesville, NC, 1999 – 2004

Box 5: Oversize – Complete Issues

Smoky Mountain News, Waynesville, NC, 2005 – 2018

Wild Mountain Times, Journal of the Southern Appalachian Biodiversity Project, Asheville, NC, 1996 – 1998

Jazz News (Marge Hofacre’s), San Diego, California, 1997 – 1998

Point, Columbia, South Carolina, 1993 – 1996

Malaprop's Bookstore & Café newsletter, Asheville, North Carolina

Katúah Journal: A Bioregional Journal of the Southern Appalachians, Cullowhee, N.C., 1983 – 1993 [Thomas Rain Crowe Founding Editor]

Box 6: Oversize - Newspapers, 1988-2012

Rapid River Magazine, Asheville, N.C., 1998-2012

The Arts Journal, Asheville, N.C., 1988 – 1990

The Bloomsbury Review, Denver, Colo., 2000-2011

Green line, Asheville, N.C., 1992 – 1994 [predecessor to Mountain Xpress]

Mountain Xpress, Asheville, N.C., 1994 – 2008

Local Papers

Series 2: Articles and Poems in Literary Journals

Box 7

Folder 1: 1991

Folder 2: 1993-1994

Folder 3: 1994

Folder 4: 1995

Box 8

Folder 5: 1996 (1 of 3)

Folder 6: 1996 (2 of 3)

Folder 7: 1996 (3 of 3)

Folder 8: 1997

Folder 9: 1997-1998

Box 9

Folder 10: 1999-2000

Folder 11: 2001-2002

Folder 12: 2004

Folder 13: 2005

Box 10

Folder 14: 2006-2007

Folder 15: 2008-2009

Folder 16: 2010

Folder 17: 2011

Folder 18: 2012

Folder 19: Drafts

Series 3, Works by Thomas Rain Crowe and Others

Subseries 1: Works by Thomas Rain Crowe

Box 11

Subseries 2: Works by other authors

Box 12: 1987-2015 and undated

Series 4, Publicity, Author Events/Appearances

Box 13: 1987-2018 and undated

Series 5, Reviews of Crowe’s Books

Box 14

Folder 1. 10,000 Dawns

Folder 2.  Blue Rose of Venice

Folder 3.  Book of Rocks

Folder 4.  Brucciano Poems

Folder 5.  Che Guevara’s Dream

Folder 6.  Crack Light

Folder 7.  Drunk on the wine of the beloved

Folder 8.  End of Eden

Folder 9.  H.A. Dal Poems

Folder 10. House of Girls

Folder 11. In Wineseller’s Street: Renderings of Hafez

Folder 12. Kenneth Patchen

Folder 13. The Laugharne Poems

Folder 14. Night Sun

Folder 15. Radio-genesis

Folder 16. Writing the wind

Folder 17. Zoro’s Field

Series 6, New Native Press

Box 15

Folder 1. Catalogs, titles, publicity, letterhead

Subseries 1, Publications

Folder 2. 1990-1996

Folder 3. 1997-2004   

Folder 4. 2005-2012

Folder 5. 2013-2014

Folder 6. 2014-2015

Subseries 2, New Native Press authors, publicity, reviews

Box 16

Folder 1. Daughtry, Philip

Folder 2. Davis, Jeff

Folder 3. Duncan, Barbara R.

Folder 4. Lane, John

Folder 5. Lorca and Naruda

Folder 6. McLachlan, Meschach

Folder 7. Truscott, Danielle

Folder 8. Wainio, Ken

Folder 9.V arious

Series 7, Broadsides and Posters, 1977-2009 and undated

Folder 1. New Native Press Broadsides

Folder 2. Other Broadsides

Box 17 – Oversize Broadsides, book covers, posters, 1976-2013 and undated

Folder - Broadsides

Folder - Book covers, New Nature Press

Folder - Book covers

Folder - Posters, Thomas Rain Crowe

Folder - Posters, other authors

Series 8, Media and miscellaneous materials

Box 18

Folder 1.  Activism (Harvey Gantt campaign for U.S. Senate)

Folder 2.  Activism (issues, opinions)

Folder 3.  Articles, quotes

Folder 4.  Audio/Visual

Folder 5.  Bibliography

Folder 6.  Biographical

Folder 7.  Correspondence

Folder 8.  Fern Hill Records

Folder 9.  Hawk Littlejohn

Folder 10. Interviews of TRC

Folder 11. Letters to the Editor

Folder 12. Nan Watkins

Folder 13. Photographs

Folder 14. Publications listed in publisher’s catalogs

Folder 15. TRC Recordings