Acquisition

Richard D. Sawyer donated the collection to Special Collections in 2012 with additional material donated in 2013 and 2018.

• Richard D. Sawyer Historic Postcard Collection, 1890s-1930s
• James L. Orr, Jr. Papers, 1876-1907
• Parkerscope yearbooks, [1925, 1928-30, 1932-58, 1960, 1962-63, 1965-66, 1968-75, 1978-82, 1985]
• The Stars and Stripes, France, Vol. 1, No. 41, Nov 15, 1918 
• Newspapers were added to the American Newspaper Collection, Headlines and Front Pages, 1860-2010:
  • June 5, 1944. “Allies Capture Rome,” Greenville News
  • June 6, 1944. “Allied Troops Push as much as 9 miles inland,” Greenville Piedmont
  • June 6, 1944. “Invasion is launched on coast of France,” Greenville News
  • June 7, 1944. “Allies Push into France,” Greenville News
  • June 7, 1944. “Allies Repulse Nazis, move Inland,” Greenville News
  • August 10, 1945. “Tokyo Radio offers surrender to Allies,” Greenville Piedmont
  • August 15, 1945. “War Ends,” Greenville News
• LP, Music at Furman: The Furman University Singers and Band, 1952
• During processing, books were separated and added to the Book Collection and are accessible using the online catalog. See List of Separated Material following Detailed Description of the Collection.

• Richard D. Sawyer Historic Postcard Collection, 1890s-1930s

Access and Restrictions

Open to research. Panoramic photographs in boxes 10 and 11 are not accessible due to preservation issues. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

[Identification of item], Richard D. Sawyer Historic Greenville Collection [Box #, Folder #], Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.