The collection is arranged into four series with two series further subdivided into subseries. 

Series I. Jane Sampey

Sub-series 1: Biographical (Box 1)

Sub-series 2: Correspondence (Box 2)

Sub-series 3: Writings (Boxes 3-4)

Sub-series 4: Travel Photos (Boxes 5-14)

Series II. John R Sampey Sr. (Box 15)

Series III. John R Sampey, Jr. (Box 16-18)

Series IV. Sampey Family (Box 19-25)

Sub-series 1: Sampey Family History (Box 19)

Sub-series 2: Sampey Family Photos (Box 20-21)

Sub-series 3: Sampey Family Scrapbooks (Box 22-23)

Sub-series 4. LPs and Books (Box 24-25)

Series I. Jane Sampey

Sub-series 1: Biographical includes articles written by others about her travels abroad, work materials from teaching and working as a tour guide. Also, includes material on Jane Sampey winning the “Face of Turkey” contest.

Sub-series 2: Letters 1963-1969 written to her family and friends recounting her daily life and travels abroad.

Sub-series 3: Magazine articles, letters, manuscripts, and various other publications. Most focus on experiences from living abroad in Turkey.

Sub-series 4: Travel Photos includes hundreds of slides, photographs, and negatives from her travels to countries throughout Europe, the Middle East, and Africa. Also, includes photos of students and fellow teachers from the American College for Girls at Robert’s College in Istanbul, Turkey.

Series II: John R Sampey, Jr.

Materials cover scientific and religious articles written by John Richard Sampey Jr in various newspapers, journals, and magazines. Many are featured in Baptist publications. This also includes photographs, letters, and various other materials pertaining to the military career of John Richard Sampey, Jr. during World War I. He served at Camp Davis, N.C. and abroad in various African countries. This includes the manuscript for 40,000 Miles over Africa, a memoir about Sampey’s service in Africa.

Series III. John R Sampey Sr.

Includes various newspaper clippings, magazine articles, photos, and letters written by John Richard Sampey Sr. as well as other writings about his life. Many contain his thoughts on issues pertaining to the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, KY. LPs of various Baptist sermons. Includes address by John R. Sampey Sr. at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Series IV: Sampey Family

Sub-series 1, History This series includes various newspaper articles, letters, and other materials pertaining to family history and genealogy of the Sampey family. Information on the Sampey memorial Church in Ramer, Alabama, the Renfroe-Sampey grand piano, and family letters dating from 1890 are included.

Sub-series 2: Sampey Family Photographs date from 1894 to the late 1900s primarily following the lives of John R. Sampey, Jr, Jewell Cheatham Sampey, Jane Renfroe Sampey, and John R. “Dick” Sampey, III in Greenville, S.C. Includes cabinet card of John R. Sampey, Sr. from 1894 and tin type of Dr. J.J.D. Renfroe, great-grandfather of Jane R. Sampey.

Sub-series 3: Sampey Family Scrapbooks include images and articles about John R. Sampey, Jr., family, and friends. Highlights of this series include John R. Sampey, Jr.’s accomplishments in Chemistry, Jane Sampey’s travels, and the early life of her mother, Jewell (Cheatham) Sampey.

Sub-series 4: This series includes LPs of various Baptist sermons, including address by John R. Sampey, Sr. at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. Also included are published books of John R. Sampey, Sr., bibles, History of the Sampey Memorial Church, and books from Jane Sampey’s travels in Turkey. .