Acquisition

• Part of the collection is stamped with a red “01” [Acc. 1959-01] indicating that the materials were found in the library in 1959, having been given at some point to the S.C. Baptist Collection on the downtown campus before the move to the new campus.
• Richard Furman descendants: Mrs. Walter J. Herbert gave items marked by a red “12” in December 1959 [Acc. 1959-012]; Alester G. Furman, Jr. gave part of the collection on Apr 1, 1960; Alester G. Furman gave materials marked with a red “18” in 1960 (Acc. 1960-018).
• Items were added to the collection in September 1960 and are marked with a red "20" [Acc. 1960-20].
• Mrs. R.S. Maxwell, Sr. gave material marked with a “92” in May 1970 [Acc. 1970-092].

• Biographical material added by Furman family and the university was transferred to the S.C. Biographies file for Richard Furman (1755-1825).
• Artist’s sketch (print) of Richard Furman [Map Case 4, Drawer 7: S.C. Baptists]

• Correspondence from the collection was transcribed in the book, Richard Furman: Life and Legacy by James S. Rogers, 1985. Other material was transcribed in Life and works of Dr. Richard Furman, D.D. : being a compilation of biographical tributes on, and sermons, addresses and circular letters by Richard Furman ; compiled and edited by G. William Foster, Jr., 2004

Digital reproductions of 163 letters from the Professional Correspondence Series as well as nine published sermons are available electronically in the Digital Collections Center https://cdm16821.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p16821coll2.

• S.C. Baptist Biographies file for Richard Furman
• Furman Family Papers, 1782-1960, Acc. 1959-012
• Edmund Botsford Correspondence, 1785-1819
• James C. Furman D.D. Papers, 1827-1892
• Davis Family Papers, 1932-1908, Acc. 1959-012
• Rev. Jonathan Davis Papers, 1785-1854, Acc. 1964-047
• Richard Furman Papers, South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina

Access and Restrictions

Open to research without restrictions. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

[Identification of item], Richard Furman D.D. Papers, 1777-1825 and undated, [Box#, Folder #] Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.