Skip to Main Content

Administrative Information

Acquisition

The John L. Plyler Family Collection was donated by John L. Plyler, Jr. in multiple accretions between 2006 and 2019.  

Separated Material

  • Clippings were transferred to the John L. Plyler Furmaniana folder
  • Diplomas transferred to the Diploma and Certificate Collection: Caroline Earle Plyler from Greenville High School, 1906, and from Greenville College for Women, 1907; and James Williams Plyler, MA, Cornell University, 1923
  • Diploma transferred to the Furman Alumni Diploma Collection: James Williams Plyler, BA, Furman University, 1910

Related Material

  • Furmaniana folder on John L. Plyler; also folder for Plyler manuscript, Duke Endowment Interviews, 1964
  • Furmaniana folder on Beatrice Dennis Plyler and family
  • John L. Plyler Presidential Papers (University Archives RG 03/010)
  • John L. Plyler Personal Files (University Archives RG 03/010)
  • Mary Thompson Earle Plyler – Valedictorian address, Greenville Baptist Female College 1873, Greenville Woman’s College Alumnae Collections, Various
  • Mary Thompson Earle Plyler Scrapbook, Acc. 2006-070
  • John L. Plyler, Jr. Papers, 1949-1984, Acc. 2006-072

Access and Use

Access and Restrictions

Open to research without restrictions. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], John L. Plyler Family Collection, Acc. 2006-001, [Box #, Folder #], Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.