Skip to Main Content

Arrangement

The collection is organized chronologically. 

Folder 1. Undated documents

Folder 2. 1810-1819

Folder 3. 1820-1829

Folder 4. 1830-1834

Folder 5. 1835-1839

Folder 6. 1840-1844

Folder 7. 1845-1849

Folder 8. 1850-1854

Folder 9. 1855-1859

Folder 10. 1860-1869

Folder 11. 1870-1879

Folder 12. 1880-1889

Scope and Contents

The Patrick McGill Family Papers are a collection of 435 documents including bills, promissory notes, receipts, court documents and correspondence. The majority are financial transactions related to Patrick McGill, Sr., and Jr. Documents include information about slaves' housing, clothing, medical care, and sale; women's lives and occupations; and the operation of businesses and the legal system in nineteenth-century Maryland.

The majority of documents are pre-Civil War, 1820s-1850s. Locales include Petersville, Point of Rocks, Jefferson, Baltimore, Blue Ridge Furnace, and Frederick City among others.

Folder 5. 1830-1834, contains a letter regarding a "servant" boy, August 12, 1834.

Folder 6. 1840-1844, contains a receipt for hiring out a slave boy named Henry, April 25, 1844.

Folder 7. 1845-1849, contains a blacksmithing bill that includes an item for several slave hands building a fence, June 1848.

Folder 8. 1850-1854, contains a bill for building slave quarters, 1851; and a bill with a note regarding the style of Patrick McGill, Jr.'s sister's bonnet.

Folder 9. 1855-1859, contains a letter regarding hands on the railroad putting out a fire, 1857; a medical bill that includes visits to a slave child, 1858-1860; and a letter regarding selling slaves, 1859

Folder 10. 1860-1869, contains a medical bill for delivering a child for a slave woman named Eliza, as well as providing medicine for a slave child, 1861; a receipt for slaves who were bequeathed in Patrick McGill, Jr.'s will, 1863; 2 receipts for cotton cloth for slaves; and a medical bill for extracting a Black child's tooth, 1867.