Acquisition

The initial large collection was found in the library in 1959 having been given to the library on the downtown campus before the move to the new campus. These materials are stamped with a red “01” [Acc. 1959-001]. At least thirteen collections were created from this collection, one being the Furman Family Collection.

Additions to the Furman Family Collection include:

• Acc. 1959-012, materials given by Mrs. Walter J. Herbert in December 1959 marked with a red “12.” Collected and preserved by Ann Eliza Furman (1812-1897).
• Acc. 1960-20, material given by Margaret Fitzhugh Goldsmith (1892-1964) granddaughter of James C. and Mary (Davis) Furman, and brother-in-law George B. Zimmele in September 1960 stamped with a red “20.”
• Acc. 0000-057, James Lafayette Haynsworth gave the photograph album, July 16, 1962.
• Acc. 1964-047, Elsie Hall Haynsworth, widow of Clement Furman Haynsworth, Jr. (son of Annie McMorris (Furman) Haynsworth), gave the personal articles, books, papers, pictures, and other items belonging to the Furman and Haynsworth families. Papers stamped with red "47."
• Acc. 1970-092, Mrs. Roscoe Steele Maxwell, Sr. (Mary Alice Furman 1901-1998, great-great-granddaughter of Richard Furman through Wood Furman) gave manuscripts and genealogical material.
• Acc. 1986-168, photocopies of 41 letters dated 1807 to 1888, originals in the possession of Barbara Foster. [Manuscripts on microfilm – Furman Family Correspondence 1807-1888]

• The diploma of Annie McMorris Furman, Greenville Female College, 1881, was placed in GWC Records, Series 12, Diploma Collection.
• The writing desk [wooden box] of Annie McMorris Furman, initials “AMF” was placed in the Artifact Collection.
• Bible of Harriet E. (Davis) Furman [Call No. BS 185 1816 .P5];
• Bible of Rev. Jonathan Davis, father-in-law of Rev. James C. Furman, printed in 1819. Inside: “Jon. Davis’s Book,” also “The Property of W. K. Davis.” [Call No. BS 185 1819 .B64];
• Hebrew “Bible” [Five books of Moses and Haftorahs] owned by Richard Furman (dated 1795) and by Richard Furman, Jr. (dated 1841) [Call No. BS 1222 .F57 1795]

• Letters from this collection written by Maria Baker Taylor are referenced in Baptist Faith in Action, The Private Writings of Maria Baker Taylor, 1813-1895, by Kathryn Carlisle Schwartz, 2003.

• Richard Furman D.D. Papers
• James C. Furman D.D. Papers
• Rev. Jonathan Davis Family Collection
• Thea Furman Papers, 1865-1996
• Charles M. and Frances (Garden) Furman Civil War Correspondence, 1861-1865
• Furman and Butt Family Papers, 1827-1840; 1861-1862
• Artifacts, Furman Family pocket watches, #2003-004

Access and Restrictions

Open to research without restrictions. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

[Identification of item], Furman Family Collection, 1782-1960 [Item#, Folder #], Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.