Acquisition

The Rev. Jonathan Davis Family Collection was initially part of the Furman Family Collection and was made into a separate collection in 2011. This part of the collection is stamped with a red “01” [Acc. 1959-01] indicating that the materials were found in the library in 1959, having been given at some point to the library on the downtown campus before the move to the new campus.

Mrs. Walter J. Herbert gave items marked with a red “12” in December 1959 [Acc. 1959-012]. Material stamped with a red “20” [Acc. 1960-20] was given by Margaret Fitzhugh Goldsmith, granddaughter of James C. and Mary (Davis) Furman, and brother-in-law George B. Zimmele in September 1960. Correspondence given anonymously in 1967 is marked with “147.” Thea Furman Duffies gave additional correspondence in 1991. [Acc. 1991-004].

• Rev. Jonathan Davis Papers, 1785-1854; bulk 1823-1850, Acc. 1964-047
• Furman Family Collection, Series V: Genealogical Information – Davis Family
• Rev. James C. Furman, D.D. Papers
• Thea Furman Papers, 1865-1996, Acc. 2006-089
• Portrait of James B. Davis, Object No. 08.02.024; his wife, Mary Elizabeth (Scott) Davis, Object No. 08.02.025.
• Watercolor painting, Davis Family home place, “The Homestead,” at Monticello, Fairfield County, S.C. Object No. 08.02.156.

Access and Restrictions

Open to research without restrictions. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

[Identification of item], Rev. Jonathan Davis Family Collection, 1832-1908 [Box #, Folder #], Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.