Acquisition

• Mrs. Thomas T. Goldsmith (Charlotte Manly, 1882-1978), daughter of Basil Manly, Jr., donated the initial collection in 1961. A red “27” [1961-027] identifies these materials. Mrs. Goldsmith donated a notebook and letters from Basil Manly, Jr. to his daughter Lottie (1885-86) in 1967 [Acc. 1967-064]. A “78” [1969-078] identifies additional materials Mrs. Goldsmith donated in 1969.
• Accretion 1985-170 was donated by Basil Manly, IV ‘47 (1924-2017), grandson of Basil Manly, Jr. The materials were photocopied and the originals were returned to him. A “170” identifies these materials.
• Accretion 1987-174 was donated by Thomas T. ’31 and Helen Goldsmith (son of original donor). The materials were photocopied and the originals were returned to them.

• S.C. Baptist Biography reference file – Basil Manly, Sr. and Basil Manly, Jr., Special Collections, Furman University
• Book, Notes on Theology by Basil Manly, Jr. [Call no. Bapt BS 480 .M32 1845z]
• Family Bible, Rev. Basil Manly, D.D. [Call No. SpecColl Folio BS185 1857 .N48]
• Furmaniana reference folder – Charles Manly, Special Collections, Furman University
• Basil Manly Sr. Papers, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
• Basil Manly Papers, #486-z, Southern Historical Collection, The Wilson Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
• Basil Manly (1798-1868) Papers (#2723); Manly Family Papers (#4409), Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
• Manly Family papers, W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library, The University of Alabama.

Access and Restrictions

Open to research without restrictions. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

[Identification of item], Basil Manly Family Papers, 1817-1964, Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.