Skip to Main Content

Administrative Information

Acquisition: 

The exact donation date of this collection is unknown. 

Accruals:

No accruals are expected.

Custodial history:

Documentation in the collection suggests that these records were stored at Furman as early as 1958 by Mrs. Jessie Stokely Burnett, first president of the Greenville Branch and a member of the Furman History Department. Mrs. Burnett as historian was asked to organize the S.C. Division material and donate it to the South Caroliniana Library in Columbia.

Documentation in the collection indicates that Dr. Olivia Futch, past Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at Furman, past AAUW Greenville Branch president, and S.C. Division president 1953-55, was acting as archivist of the collection in 1975 and had agreed to keep it at Furman. Notes made by Futch (ca. 1980), indicate that Mrs. Burnett had told her the materials she turned over to Furman for the AAUW Division Archives duplicated almost all of the material she had supplied to the South Caroliniana Library as well as the later material at Furman.

A 1997 memo from Doris Clanton, Greenville Branch Historian, indicates that there were nine boxes of material, some stored in the Furman library and some in Delores P. Buford’s office (Research Associate, Institutional Planning, 1974-2001). Clanton organized the material in chronological order and condensed the material down to six boxes.

Related Material

The following sources provide additional information on the AAUW:

  • American Association of University Women (AAUW) Records, Greenville Branch 1966-2010, bulk 1987-2004, Accession: #:       2011-026
  • A History of the South Carolina Division of the American Association of University Women, 1924-1951, by Jessie Stokely Burnett [Call No. Furman Oversize LC1571 .T34 1960]
  • AAUW, Greenville Branch Records, Greenville County Historical Society
  • Records of the American Association of University Women: South Carolina Division, 1949-2008, South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina

Access and Use

Access and Restrictions:  

Open to research without restrictions. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], American Association of University Women (AAUW) Records, SC Division Acc. 0000-049 [Box #, Folder #], Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.