Furman University home page
*Politics and International Affairs: Background Information
CQ Political Reference Suite
Authoritative analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress for each year since 1945. Unique data on the voting patterns of Congress members provide insight into the legislative process and history of the institution. Users can follow the history of a policy issue with the Policy Tracker tool which links reports on the same issue for almost 70 years.
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
A weekly news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.
The ultimate insider's guide to politics with authoritative information on each member of Congress and the district he or she represents.
Encyclopedias and Guides
Almanac of American Politics 2022Publication Date: 2021The 50th Commemorative Edition for this political reference icon. The Almanac of American Politics continues to be the gold standard of accessible political information, relied on by everyone involved, invested or interested in politics in America. Highly regarded for its in-depth analysis and comprehensive profiles of every congressional district, state, governor and member of Congress.
Cambridge History of Political Thought (6vols) OnlineMost recent volume published 2011- The Cambridge History of Twentieth Century political Thought.
Dictionary of Political BiographyCompiled by an expert team of contributors, this dictionary covers all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century and 21st century to 2009. Authoritative and wide-ranging, it describes and assesses the lives of more than 1,000 men and women who have shaped political events across the world.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political HistoryExplores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States. With contributions from scholars in the fields of history and political science, this encyclopedia provides students, researchers, and scholars the opportunity to examine the political evolution of the United States from the colonial period to the present day.
International Encyclopedia of Political ScienceDigital version of 8 volumes in print this encylopedia provides an essential, authoritative guide to the state of political science at the start of the 21st century and for decades to come, making it an invaluable resource for a global readership, including researchers, students, citizens, and policy makers.The encyclopedia was developed in partnership with the International Political Science Association.
Gale eBooks
More background here...
Congress and the NationDigital version of 12 volumes covering 1945 thru 2012, issued every two years.
Guide to CongressDigital resource addressing the Origins and Developement of Congress, Powers of Congress, Congressional Procedures, Pressures on Congress, Congress and the Electorate and much more.The Oxford Handbook of the American Congress
Publication Date: 2010This digital version is always available. The print copy we bought last year is checked out. But now you can access it anyway.
Encyclopedia of Women and American PoliticsCall Number: Reference Collection HQ1236.5.U6 E52 2008
Women in American Politics: History and Milestones by Publication Date: 2012A unique and comprehensive reference detailing the milestones and trends in women's political participation in the United States. Offers insightful analysis on women's political achievements in the United States, including the campaign to secure nation-wide suffrage; pioneer women state officeholders; women first elected to U.S. Congress, governorships, mayoralties, and other offices; and women first appointed as Cabinet officials, judges, and ambassadors.
Tools & Tutorials
If you're having trouble getting your ideas going, try reading a few encyclopedia articles. Look for keywords in the article and the different ways it's described there. Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited for more information on topic.
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingHow to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- TruncationTired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)