It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Includes abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 publications.
An electronic version of the 14 volume reference work, providing comprehensive, high quality, authoritative, and up-to-date information on the field of linguisitics. Includes newly commissioned articles as well as a handful of classic articles from the first edition, over 3,000 articles in all. The online version exploits the multimedia potential of linguistics, providing supplementary audio, video and text files online.
Encompasses a range of topics in linguistics, including areassuch as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.
Resource for scholars and lay persons in the field of Jewish linguistics, providing information on several Jewish languages, including Hebrew, Jewish Aramaic, Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish, Judeo-Arabic, Judeo-Italian, Jewish English and Judeo-Persian.
Starting with Background Information
Become familiar with the ideas, major concepts and basic vocabulary in your chosen research area. Such background knowledge places your topic in a wider context, deepens your understanding and helps you feel more comfortable with it.
Encyclopedias are a great place to get an overview of a topic that is new to you.
Encyclopedias often identify narrower areas within the broad subject, which may suggest a focus for your research. Many encyclopedia article entries also provide a list of references that can help you locate further, more in-depth and scholarly information sources.
Work from general to specific.
If a general encyclopedia doesn't provide enough background information, continue your research with focused subject encyclopedias. Wikipedia can be a place to find specific names, dates and events, but use it mainly as a jumping off point. The library has scholarly subject encyclopedias which provide reliable and in depth information.
Subject dictionaries can help define unfamiliar words and specialized terminology when researching a new subject in specific disciplines.
Remember: Encyclopedias are good starting points, but don’t contain ALL the information you'll need on a subject for college level research.
Get started: Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias. Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research. Note any additional keywords and relevant items in the references at the end of the encyclopedia articles.