Furman University home page
Loading...
*Modern Languages: Articles
Best Bets for Articles
- MLA BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- Humanities Full TextH.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsIndexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Includes abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 publications.
- Gale Literary Sources Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
- ARTFL Project (French-English Resources)ARTFL is a cooperative project of the Institut National de la Langue Française (INaLF) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)and the Divisions of the Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Chicago. Resources available through ARTFL include FRANTEXT, a database of nearly 2000 texts of French literature and non-fiction; several French-English dictionaries; the ARTFL Encyclopédie, a complete on-line version of the first edition of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclop
- Literature Resource CenterProvides access to Biography, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes access to the Scribner Writer's Series and Twayne World, Twayne US, and Twayne English Authors.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesFull content of the whole twenty years of the annual printed Bibliography of Asian Studies (from 1971–1991), plus citations for articles from 1992 to the present in more than 100 journals in the field of Asian studies. Contains over 590,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc.
- PAIS InternationalCovers issues in public policy from 1915 to present. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. Provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical (Prohibition, civil rights, McCarthyism) to current (health policy, climate change, terrorism)
- Country StudiesOnline version of the Country Studies Handbooks produced by the Library of Congress and the Department of the Army. Describes and analyzes the political, economic, social, national security systems and institutions of over 100 countries and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
- Fuente AcademicaOffers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
How do I get the full text of an article from a database?
Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.
- If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF or HTML icon. Clicking on the PDF or HTML icon will give you the full text of the article.
- If you don't see a PDF or HTML icon, then clicking on the FULLText icon will automatically start the search process.
- If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database. Often this will take you directly to the article.
- If there is no online option, You will have the option to request a copy - from another library via interlibrary loan, or from our own collections via Scan & Deliver if available . Clicking the "Request a copy" link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account.
- You can also check the library catalog to see if the article is available in one of the library's print collections, and then go scan or photocopy the article yourself.
Improve Your Search
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingIt's not just for the birds! How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- Truncat*Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)